Skip to content

ANZEIGE

NIKIN – TreeWear for a greener planet

NIKIN – TreeWear for a greener planet

Giving something back to nature with sustainable and fair streetwear was the founding idea of the Swiss brand NIKIN, which plants a tree for every sold product. With well over a million trees, Nikin has made his contribution to the reforestation of the earth.

Nicholas Hänny and Robin Gnehm have long wanted to start a joint project. Their goal? To found a fashion label with a (positive!) Ecological impact and to show that it doesn’t take much to live more ecologically and thereby do something good for nature. The idea of ​​founding a brand that is committed to sustainability was therefore only logical. The go-ahead for NIKIN, the Swiss label that has suddenly been doing everything in rapid succession since it was founded in 2016, had been given. Since then, a tree has been planted for every sold product. With over a million trees planted, the NIKIN founders, who have known each other from childhood and have a common scout and skater history, have proven how serious they are.

Our planet, on which we are only guests and which suffers greatly from human influence, is irreplaceable.

In addition to a small gym sack collection designed by Nicholas, Robin and Nicholas had made 60 hats and for each of them they wanted to plant a tree. After three days, the Treeanies that were stored in Robin’s brother Jeffrey’s childrens room were sold out. The two of them were soon no longer able to meet the demand on their own. Robin’s family stepped in. The parents sewed the labels on, his brother Lester, actually a gardener, took over the logistics and sent the packages after work. Jeffrey took over communication and continues to do so to this day. This was followed by the move to a former vegetable shop in the neighboring village and, in summer 2018, to larger premises in an old toy factory.

NIKIN

The idea of ​​combining streetwear with reforestation has met with huge interest. The Swiss flagship start-up grew rapidly.

With the success, the owners have come a big step closer to their goal. They have gradually brought the production of their products to Europe, where today almost the entire collection is made. The TreeShirt production takes place west of Istanbul, north of Sofia (Bulgaria) the TreeCaps are made and the TreeSocks are produced in the Latvian capital Riga. Beanies are produced in Lodz (Poland) and the cotton tree packs come from the Czech Republic. Only the TreeBottle is still made in China because no adequate production facility has been found in Europe.

Environmentally friendly and recycled materials such as organic cotton, recycled polyester, Polylana Piñatex and bamboo viscose are used for the shirts, jackets, pants, bodywear. Since January 2019, NIKIN and its products have been officially “GOTS” (Global Organic Textile Standard) certified, which guarantees sustainable and fair production. The Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) ensures adequate environmental and working conditions in cotton cultivation. Further certificates: STANDARD 100 from OEKO-TEX, SGS (Safety and Health) in China and Fairtrade for the TreeTowels.

„Tree by Tree“ – #givesomethingbacktonature

The Swiss brand with the tree in its logo wants to give something back to the earth through sustainable and fair streetwear. With its Tree Planting Initiative, the team supports global reforestation to make the world a little greener again. For every product sold, an amount is given to the NIKIN partner, the American non-profit organization OneTreePlanted (OTP), which regularly organizes reforestation projects worldwide. Always where the tree is most urgently needed after forest fires or deforestation. With the personalized tree certificate made of – of course – wood-free paper, e.g. made from waste from the sugar cane industry, the customer becomes an official tree sponsor with every order.

NIKIN

The next logical step followed in 2020 with the launch of their swimwear collection from Econyl and Seaqual. The two founders have extended their fight against deforestation and for the preservation of forests worldwide to the oceans in order to free them from plastic. Another step in this direction followed with the TreeLeggings, which have also been helping to clear the seas since the beginning of 2021.

More than one million trees (of course, the millionth tree was planted in the NIKIN home in Lenzburg) that have now been planted thanks to NIKIN.

NIKIN is committed to everything that helps to maintain the beauty and health of our ecosystem.

The sustainability requirement does not stop with the product. For the (plastic-free!) Packaging, used boxes from returns are used as far as possible. No additional filling material is used. Almost everything is separated and recycled here and disposed of responsibly. biodegradable products end up in their own compost system, where they are broken down into earth by earthworms and create natural fertilizers. And because tap water can be drunk in Switzerland without any problems, every new team member receives an own reusable TreeBottle on the first day of work – this saves countless amounts of plastic.

NIKIN

Good to know: At NIKIN, returns do not end up in the garbage like with other providers. Returned goods are offered at discounted prices in outlet sales (saves shipping!), are used at events or are donated. In any case, every product finds a happy new owner.

Next step? Sustainable Treepucino or Treetea in their own store. A combination of a café and a NIKIN shop. Because after Switzerland, the world, or at least Europe, is now being conquered.

More about NIKIN. Click here

Skip to content

ANZEIGE

Slider
NIKIN – TreeWear for a greener planet

NIKIN – TreeWear for a greener planet

Der Natur mit nachhaltiger und fairer Streetwear etwas zurückzugeben, war der Gründungsgedanke des Schweizer Brands NIKIN, die für jedes verkaufte Produkt einen Baum pflanzt. Mit weit über einer Million Bäume hat Nikin seinen Beitrag zur Wiederaufforstung der Erde geleistet.

Schon lange wollten Nicholas Hänny und Robin Gnehm ein gemeinsames Projekt starten. Ihr Ziel? Ein Modelabel mit (positiver!) ökologischer Wirkung zu gründen und zu zeigen, dass es nicht viel braucht, um ökologischer zu leben und damit der Natur etwas Gutes zu tun. Die Idee ein Brand zu gründen, das sich der Nachhaltigkeit verschrieben hat, war also nur konsequent. Der Startschuss für NIKIN, dem Schweizer Label, bei dem seit der Gründung 2016 plötzlich alles Schlag auf Schlag ging, war gefallen. Seitdem wird für jedes verkaufte Produkt ein Baum gepflanzt. Mit über einer Million gepflanzter Bäume haben die NIKIN-Gründer, die sich schon aus Kindertagen kennen und eine gemeinsame Pfadfinder- und Skater-Historie haben, bewiesen, wie ernst ihnen ihr Anliegen ist.

Unser Planet, auf dem wir nur Gäste sind und der stark unter dem menschlichen Einfluss leidet, ist nicht ersetzbar.

Neben einer kleinen Turnsack-Kollektion die Nicholas entworfen hatte, ließen Robin und Nicholas 60 Mützen produzieren und für die sie jeweils einen Baum pflanzen wollten. Nach drei Tagen waren die Treeanies, die in Kinderzimmer von Robins Bruder Jeffrey lagerten, ausverkauft. Die Nachfrage konnten die beiden bald nicht mehr alleine bedienen. Robins Familie sprang ein. Die Eltern nähten die Labels auf, sein Bruder Lester, eigentlich Gärtner, übernahm die Logistik und verschickte nach Feierabend die Pakete. Jeffrey übernahm die Kommunikation und tut dies auch bis heute. Es folgte der Umzug in einen ehemaligen Gemüseladen im Nachbardorf und Sommer 2018 in grössere Räumlichkeiten in einer alten Spielwarenfabrik.

NIKIN

Die Idee, Streetwear mit Wiederaufforstung zu verbinden ist auf riesiges Interesse gestoßen. Das Schweizer Vorzeige-Start-up wuchs rasant.

Mit dem Erfolg sind die Inhaber ihrem Ziel einen großen Schritt näher gekommen. Sie haben sukzessive die Produktion ihrer Produkte nach Europa geholt, wo heute fast die komplette Kollektion hergestellt wird. Die TreeShirt Produktion findet westlich von Istanbul statt, nördlich von Sofia (Bulgarien) werden die TreeCaps hergestellt und die TreeSocks werden in der in der lettischen Hauptstadt Riga produziert. Die Produktion für Beanies befindet sich in Lodz (Polen) und die TreePacks aus Baumwolle stammen aus Tschechien. Lediglich die TreeBottle wird noch in China hergestellt, weil man bislang keine adäquate Produktionsstätte in Europa gefunden hat.

Verwendet werden für die Shirts, Jackets, Hosen, Bodywear umweltfreundliche und recycelte Materialien wie Bio-Baumwolle, recyceltes Polyester, Polylana Piñatex und Bambusviskose. Seit Januar 2019 ist NIKIN und seine Produkte offiziell „GOTS“ (Global Organic Textile Standard) zertifiziert, was eine nachhaltige und faire Produktion garantiert. Die Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) stellt adäquate Umwelt- und Arbeitsbedingungen im Baumwollanbau sicher. Weitere Zertifikate: STANDARD 100 von OEKO-TEX, SGS (Safety and Health) in China und Fairtrade für die TreeTowels.

„Tree by Tree“ – #givesomethingbacktonature

Das Schweizer Brand mit dem Baum im Logo möchte der Erde durch nachhaltige und faire Streetwear etwas zurückgeben. Mit seiner Tree Planting Initiative unterstützt das Team die globale Wiederaufforstung um die Welt wieder ein wenig grüner zu machen. Für jedes verkaufte Produkt wird ein Betrag an den NIKIN-Partner, die amerikanische Non-Profit-Organisation OneTreePlanted (OTP) gegeben, die regelmäßig Wiederaufforstungsprojekte weltweit organisiert. Immer dort, wo der Baum nach Waldbränden oder Abholzungen am dringendsten benötigt wird. Mit dem personalisierten Tree-Zertifikat aus – selbstverständlich – baumfreiem Papier, das z.B. aus Abfällen der Zuckerrohrindustrie hergestellt wird, wird der Kunde mit jeder Bestellung zum offiziell Baum-Sponsoren.

NIKIN

Mit der Lancierung ihrer Swimwear Collection aus Econyl und Seaqual folgte 2020 der nächste konsequente Schritt. Ihren Kampf gegen die Abholzung und für den Erhalt von Wäldern weltweit haben die beiden Gründer auf die Ozeane erweitert, um diese von Plastik zu befreien. Ein weiterer Schritt in diese Richtung folgte mit den TreeLeggings, die seit Anfang 2021 ebenfalls zur Entmüllung der Meere beitragen.

Über eine Million Bäume, (klar, dass der Millionste Baum in der NIKIN Heimat in Lenzburg gepflanzt wurde) wurden dank NIKIN inzwischen gepflanzt.

NIKIN macht sich für alles stark, was dazu beiträgt, die Schönheit und Gesundheit unseres Ökosystems zu erhalten.

Der Nachhaltigkeitsanspruch hört nicht beim Produkt auf. Für die (plastikfreie!) Verpackung wird, soweit wie möglich auf Gebrauchtkartons aus Retouren zurückgegriffen. Auf zusätzliches Füllmaterial wird verzichtet. Hier wird auch fast alles getrennt und recycelt und verantwortungsbewusst entsorgt. Biologisch abbaubare Produkte landen im eigenen Kompostsystem, wo sie von Regenwürmern zu Erde zersetzt werden und natürlichen Dünger entstehen lassen. Und weil das Leitungswasser in der Schweiz problemlos getrunken werden kann, erhält jedes neue Teammitglied am ersten Arbeitstag eine eigene wiederverwendbare TreeBottle – so können unzählige Massen an Plastik eingespart werden.

NIKIN

Gut zu wissen: Retouren landen bei NIKIN nicht wie bei anderen Anbietern auf dem Müll. Zurückgesendete Ware wird in Outlet-Sales zu vergünstigten Preisen angeboten (spart Versand ein!), kommt auf Events zum Einsatz oder wird gespendet. In jedem Fall findet jedes Produkt einen glücklichen neuen Besitzer.

Next step? Nachhaltigen Treepucino oder Treetea im eigenen Store. Eine Kombination von Café und NIKIN-Shop. Denn nach der Schweiz wird jetzt die Welt, oder zumindest Europa erobert.

Weitere Informationen zu NIKIN. Hier klicken