Skip to content

ANZEIGE

Corvera Vargas

Corvera Vargas

Fairness, transparency and zero waste are the principles of Maria Vargas’ label located in Berlin, producing contemporary fashion from leftovers since 2013. This not only reduces the waste within the textile industry, but also leads to highly limited, great individual pieces at an affordable price.

Corvera Vargas works with textile remnants from German fashion houses, covering a full 95 percent with materials that would otherwise have ended up in the garbage. This is a completely different approach to the production of a collection, since often only very small quantities of fabric are available. Between two meters of fabric and two whole rolls of fabric, anything is possible.

Corvera Vargas covers 95% of its production with leftovers fabrics

Corvera VargasRelaxed and timeless – that’s how casual fair fashion works

It is clear that normal seasonal collection production is not possible in this case. Accordingly, the collection, produced in Poland, grows by a few pieces every two weeks – depending on the availability of fabrics. This is challenge, as designer Maria Vargas says herself, one that makes her grow.

“Small quantities increase the value of clothing”

Fairness meets Transparency

In addition to fairness, a central issue at Corvera Vargas is transparency. It is about building and maintaining long-standing personal contacts with suppliers and producers. Positive side effect: quality control. Maria Vargas enjoys working with local creative people from Berlin as well as from her South American home country. #bettertogether

Corvera Vargas
Alpaca Bomber

Always used: Alpaca wool

This is where her preference for alpaca wool comes from, which she uses to create intricate pieces like short wrap jackets and knitted bombers. Good to know: Corvera Vargas only uses Fairtrade wool from the Bolivian Highlands, treated with biodegradable detergents and dyed with environmental friendly dyes. Thereafter the wool is knit into cozy pieces by a couple in El Alto. Full transparency about Corvera Vargas’ production partners can be found here

“Without mutual support, slow fashion does not work”

Welcome @ (C\V)

Good to know: All products are available online or at the Corvera Vargas Studio (C\V) at Pflügerstraße 70 in Berlin. Here you will find Maria’s womenswear collection, favorite pieces by jewelry designer Rah Rah Studio and lingerie and swimwear by Anekdot. This is where an Open Studio Week was held for Fashion Revolution Week under the motto #WhoMadeMyClothes.

And the name? That’s Maria’s family name: Maria Corvera Vargas. A name to remember!

More about Corvera Vargas. Click here

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on whatsapp

Corvera Vargas

Fairness, Transparenz und Zero Waste sind die Prinzipien von Maria Vargas Berliner Label, für das sie 2013 contemporary fashion aus Leftovers fertigt. Das reduziert nicht nur den Müll der Textilindustrie. Das führt zu stark limitierten, großartigen Einzelstücken. Zu einem erschwinglichen Preis.

Dazu arbeitet die Designerin mit textilen Resten deutscher Modehäuser. Ganze 95 Prozent kann Corvera Vargas inzwischen über Materialien abdecken, die ansonsten als Müll geendet hätten. Das ist eine vollkommen andere Herangehensweise an die Produktion einer Kollektion, da oftmals nur ganz kleine Mengen verfügbar sind. Zwischen zwei Metern Stoff und zwei ganzen Stoffrollen ist hier alles möglich.

95 % der Produktion deckt Corvera Vargas mit Leftovers ab.

Corvera VargasEntspannt und zeitlos – so lässig geht faire Fashion

Dass vor diesem Hintergrund keine übliche saisonale Kollektionsproduktion möglich ist, ist klar. Dementsprechend wird die Kollektion alle zwei Wochen – je nach Verfügbarkeit der Stoffe – um einige Stücke, die sie in Polen fertigen lässt, erweitert. Eine Challenge, wie Designerin Maria Vargas selber sagt, an der sie wächst.

„Kleine Stückzahlen steigern die Wertschätzung von Kleidung“

Fairness meets Transparenz

Ein zentrales Thema ist neben der Fairness bei Corvera Vargas die Transparenz. Dazu baut sie langjährige, persönliche Kontakte zu Zulieferern und Produzenten auf. Positiver Side-Effekt: die Qualitätskontrolle. Maria Vargas arbeitet gerne mit lokalen Kreativen aus Berlin sowie aus ihrer südamerikanischen Heimat zusammen. #bettertogether

Corvera Vargas
Alpaca Bomber

Immer dabei: Alpacawolle

Daher stammt auch ihre Vorliebe für Alpacawolle, aus der sie raffinierte Teile wie kurze Wickeljacken und Strick-Bomber zaubert. Gut zu wissen: Bei Corvera Vargas wird ausschließlich Fairtrade-Wolle aus den bolivianischen Highlands verwendet, die mit biologisch abbaubaren Reinigungsmitteln behandelt wurde und umweltfreundlichen Mittel gefärbt wurde, bevor sie von einem Ehepaar in El Alto zu den kuscheligen Lieblingsstücken verstrickt wird. Alle Infos zu den Produktionspartnern von Corvera Vargas gibt’s hier

„Ohne gegenseitiges Unterstützen funktioniert die Slow-Fashion nicht“

Welcome @ (C\V)

Gut zu wissen: Alle Produkte sind online oder im Corvera Vargas Studio (C\V) in der Pflügerstraße 70 in Berlin erhältlich. Hier findet man neben Marias Womenswear-Kollektion auch Lieblingsstücke von Schmuckdesignerin Rah Rah Studio sowie Dessous und Bademoden von Anekdot. Und hier wurde unter dem Motto #WhoMadeMyClothes anlässlich der Fashion Revolution Week eine Open Studio Week veranstaltet.

Und der Name? Das ist Marias Familienname. Maria Corvera Vargas. Und den sollte man sich merken!

www.corveravargas.com