Skip to content

ANZEIGE

Slider
Purpose Talks

Purpose Talks

What is this about? About exchange, opinion, inspiration. About slow fashion in front of and behind the scenes. So much is happening in the area of sustainable fashion that you need at least four or more eyes to notice the most important changes, trends, etc. In this case, these four eyes belong to Susanne Barta, who lives as a moderator, coach, spokeswoman, and publicist in Bolzano and became an integral part of the GREENSTYLE family professionally (and privately!) In October 2019. And Mirjam Smend, who organized the first GREENSTYLE in autumn 2018. One lives in Munich - the other in Bozen. It goes without saying that one or the other mail is sent back and forth here ...

August 9, 2020, San Juan de los Terreros

Dear Susanne,
Before we go public with our conversations, I would like to thank you for the idea of ​​taking over the Leandra Medine-inspired email conversations for GREENSTYLE. For both of us, this type of conversation is really useful, as we not only have an incredible amount to say to each other, but are also always interested in the opinion of the other. We also live in different countries. Even though we can now meet more often again for creative work meetings, short emails to exchange ideas and / or initiate ideas are still a wonderful form of communication.

Just say thank you.
At this point I would like to take the opportunity to write a few words about you. Many know you as the moderator of our conference topics of the 3rd edition as well as the virtual Conference, which, thanks to your support, we put online in mid-March after the failed 4th edition.

How do we know each other?
At the 2nd edition we didn’t have anyone who took over our moderation. I had to take on many topics myself, or at least the introductions. Whenever I was on the conference stage, I noticed a couple in the front rows who didn’t miss a single topic. You spoke to me on the last day. Not only has a professional relationship developed from this, but a real friendship that leads us to Bolzano again and again and for which I would like to thank. You are a real asset.

Sunny regards,
*mirjam

13. August, San Juan de los Terreros

#1 Bottom up or top down: Denim-Patchwork goes Dior

Dear Susanne,

From an old tradition I like to read the fashion news on vogue.de. Even though I’ve been dealing with sustainable fashion for a number of years, I’m still interested in Gucci, Dior & Co. Quite apart from the fact that it helps me when I can put topics into the larger context. I recently stumbled upon the topic of “Patchwork Denim in the Dior Cruise Collection”.

 

This "trend" is not entirely new, however. Because upcycling labels such as DZAINO from Berlin and Bridge & Tunnel from Hamburg have been using discarded denim parts for years to manufacture their unique pieces.
© Dior
Denim Patchwork
© Dior
Denim Patwork
© Dior

The big theme of the collection is a homage to the craftsmanship that Maria Grazia Chiuri celebrates on the big stage. Some looks are dedicated to upcycling. It’s really exciting that Dior is now dealing with a topic that has long been established in sustainable fashion. Keyword: Dzaino, Bridge & Tunnel. Plus: (patchwork denim).

And so I ask myself: did the big fashion houses understand that our resources are limited? That we have to rethink. Close loops? Does it help that a fashion house with such a great radiance makes the topic tangible for the mainstream? Or is that a classic case of greenwashing? What do you mean, Susanne?

Best regards to Bolzano,
*mirjam

Bolzano, August 16, 2020

Dear Mirjam,
Your questions occupy me and probably many others very much. And the answers to this are probably decisive whether the fashion industry really becomes more sustainable and fairer. It won’t work without the big fashion houses. As you say, they have charisma and this charisma can be used. It will not be enough that materials such as organic cotton or Tencel or Appleskin are used in a collection from time to time, that Up- or Recyclingpractices are used for individual parts or that craftsmanship is celebrated. Without changing the business model, which has so far relied on more and more consumption, more collections, etc., it won’t work. Still, I think it’s a start. And what is currently primarily greenwashing could perhaps become more in the foreseeable future and move in the direction of a serious change. In any case, I can imagine the challenges for the brands are huge, the complexity of the production chains is often difficult to grasp, but I think they (almost) all understand that things cannot go on like this.

Giorgio Armani has already announced that he only wants to limit himself to two collections per year. Vivienne Westwood, Gabriela Hearst and Stella McCartney show that there is another way in high fashion.

To have to forego the creativity, style and craftsmanship of the big houses would be a great loss. Because even today it is brands like Chanel, Gucci, Valentino, you name it, who, at least stylistically, always present great things. A friend told me yesterday that sustainable fashion is still not enough for her. What do you think about that? Has anything changed here? Is sustainable fashion already clearly emerging from the basic area? Or is that perhaps also contradicting each other? Fashion, trends and sustainability?

Best regards,
Susanne

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on whatsapp

Skip to content

ANZEIGE

Slider
Purpose Talks

Purpose Talks

Um was es hier geht? Um Austausch, Meinung, Inspiration. Um Slow Fashion vor und hinter den Kulissen. Im Bereich nachhaltige Mode tut sich so viel, dass man mindestens vier oder mehr Augen braucht, um die wichtigsten Veränderungen, Strömungen etc. mitzubekommen. Diese vier Augen gehören in diesem Fall Susanne Barta, die als Moderatorin, Coach, Sprecherin, Publizistin in Bozen lebt und im Oktober 2019 beruflich (und privat!) zu einem festen Bestandteil der GREENSTYLE family wurde. Und Mirjam Smend, die im Herbst 2018 die erste GREENSTYLE veranstaltet hat. Die eine lebt in München - die andere in Bozen. Klar, dass hier die eine oder andere Mail hin- und hergeschickt wird…

9. August 2020, San Juan de los Terreros

Liebe Susanne,
Bevor wir mit unseren Konversationen in die Öffentlichkeit gehen, möchte ich mich für Deine Idee bedanken, die von Leandra Medine inspirierten Email-Konversationen für die GREENSTYLE zu übernehmen. Bei uns beiden bietet sich diese Art der Konversation wirklich an, da wir uns nicht nur unglaublich viel zu sagen haben, sondern auch immer an der Meinung der anderen interessiert sind. Außerdem leben wir in verschiedenen Ländern. Auch wenn wir uns inzwischen wieder häufiger zu kreativen Arbeits-Meetings treffen können, sind kurze Emails zum Gedankenaustausch und/oder -anstoß nach wie vor eine wunderbare Form der Kommunikation.

Einfach mal Danke sagen.
An dieser Stelle möchte ich die Gelegenheit nutzen, ein paar Worte über Dich zu schreiben. Viele kennen Dich als Moderatorin unserer Konferenzthemen der 3rd edition sowie der virtuellen Konferenz, die wir dank Deiner Unterstützung ruckzuck nach der ausgefallenen 4th edition Mitte März ins Netz gestellt haben.

Woher wir uns kennen?
Bei der 2nd edition hatten wir noch niemanden, der unsere Moderationen übernommen hat. Viele Themen musste ich selbst übernehmen oder zumindest die Anmoderationen. Immer wenn ich auf der Conference-Bühne stand, ist mir ein Paar in den ersten Reihen aufgefallen, das kein einziges Thema verpasst hat. Am letzten Tag habt Ihr mich angesprochen. Daraus hat sich nicht nur ein berufliche Beziehung entwickelt, sondern eine echte Freundschaft, die uns immer wieder nach Bozen führt und für die ich danken möchte. Du/Ihr seid eine wirkliche Bereicherung.

Sunny regards,
*mirjam

13. August, San Juan de los Terreros

#1 Bottom up or top down: Denim-Patchwork goes Dior

Liebe Susanne,

Aus alter Tradition lese ich gerne die Mode-News auf vogue.de. Auch wenn ich mich seit einigen Jahren mit nachhaltiger Mode beschäftige, habe ich immer noch Interesse an Gucci, Dior & Co. Ganz abgesehen davon, dass es mir hilft, wenn ich Themen in den größeren Kontext einordnen kann. Neulich bin ich über das Thema „Patchwork-Denim in der Dior Cruise Collection“ gestolpert.

Ganz neu ist dieser „Trend" allerdings nicht. Denn Upcycling-Lables wie DZAINO aus Berlin,. Bridge & Tunnel aus Hamburg und XY aus ULM, verwenden schon seit Jahren ausrangierte Denim-Teile, um ihre uniquer teile zu fertigen.
© Dior
Denim Patchwork
© Dior
Denim Patwork
© Dior

Das große Thema der Kollektion ist eine Hommage an die Handwerkskunst, die Maria Grazia Chiuri auf der ganz großen Bühne feiert. Einige Looks sind em Thema Upcycling gewidmet. Ganz schön spannend, dass Dior sich jetzt mit einem Thema beschäftigt, das in der nachhaltigen Mode schon lange etabliert ist. Stichwort: Dzaino, Bridge & Tunnel. Plus: (Patchwork-Denim).

Und deshalb frage ich mich: Haben die großen Modehäuser verstanden, dass unsere Ressourcen begrenzt sind? Dass wir umdenken müssen. Kreisläufe schließen? Hilft es, dass ein Modehaus mit einer so großen Strahlkraft das Thema für den Mainstream greifbar macht? Oder ist das ein klassischer Fall von Greenwashing? Was meinst Du, Susanne?

Die allerbesten Grüße nach Bozen,
*mirjam

Bozen, 16. August 2020

Liebe Mirjam,
deine Fragen beschäftigen mich und vermutlich viele andere sehr. Und die Antworten darauf sind wohl entscheidend ob die Mode-Industrie wirklich nachhaltiger und fairer wird. Ohne die großen Modehäuser wird es nicht gehen. Wie du sagst, sie haben Strahlkraft und diese Strahlkraft lässt sich einsetzen. Dass ab und an mal in einer Kollektion Materialien wie Biobaumwolle oder Tencel oder Appleskin verwendet werden, Up- oder Recycling-Praktiken für einzelne Teile zum Zug kommen oder die Handwerkskunst gefeiert wird, wird nicht reichen. Ohne Veränderung des Geschäftsmodells, das ja bisher auf immer mehr Konsum, mehr Kollektionen etc. setzt, klappt das nicht. Dennoch ist es ein Beginn finde ich. Und was derzeit noch vor allem Greenwashing ist, könnte vielleicht doch in absehbarer Zukunft mehr werden und in Richtung einer ernstgemeinten Veränderung gehen. Die Herausforderungen für die Brands sind jedenfalls riesengroß kann ich mir vorstellen, die Komplexität der Produktionsketten ja oft kaum überblickbar, aber ich glaube, sie haben (fast) alle verstanden, dass es so nicht weitergehen kann.

Giorgio Armani hat bereits angekündigt, sich nur mehr auf zwei Kollektionen pro Jahr beschränken zu wollen. Dass es im High Fashion aber auch anders geht, zeigen etwa Vivienne Westwood, Gabriela Hearst oder Stella McCartney.

Auf die Kreativität, den Style und die Handwerkskunst der großen Häuser verzichten zu müssen, wäre ein großer Verlust. Denn es sind auch heute noch Brands wie Chanel, Gucci, Valentino, you name it, die zumindest stilistisch, immer wieder Großartiges vorlegen. Eine Freundin hat mir gestern gesagt, für sie sei nachhaltige Mode immer noch zu wenig Mode. Wie siehst du das? Hat sich hier schon einiges verändert? Kommt die nachhaltige Fashion bereits wirklich sichtbar aus dem Basic-Bereich heraus? Oder widerspricht sich das vielleicht auch? Mode, Trends und Nachhaltigkeit?

Liebe Grüße,
Susanne

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on whatsapp