Skip to content

ANZEIGE

Slider
The Bad Seeds Company – made from hemp

The Bad Seeds Company – made from hemp

Mother Barbara and daughter Sofia Geier design and manufacture Dungarees, denim jackets, jumpers, oversize shirts, shirt dresses as well as rucksacks, shoulder bags & Co. for their label Bad Seeds Italia in Neumarkt in South Tyrol. And from hemp.

The founders of Bad Seeds Italia made a very active decision in favor of this material in order to improve the image of the ancient crop and to provide a sustainable alternative to classic cotton. Speaking of founders: They are Barbara Trenti and her husband Andreas Geier. The duo was later expanded by Katrin Taylor Voss from Hamburg.

For centuries, hemp was “the global player” in the textile sector. We don’t want to invent anything new. We just want a centuries-old success story not to be forgotten.

And what is “bad” about that? The hemp seeds are actually Good Seeds. But unfortunately they are still (!) negatively stored in many people’s minds.And “bad” suits us because we buck the trend in the fashion industry and don’t want to compromise”, says The Bad Seeds Company founder Barbara Trenti, explaining the origin of the label name.

Why hemp? There are tons of reasons for that.

Hemp is not only one of the oldest useful plants (textiles, ropes, oil, etc.). Hemp also hardly needs any pesticides and herbicides because it is not intensively cultivated. The uncomplicated crop is very resistant to pests and economical in terms of water requirements. In addition, hemp grows back quickly and is efficient in terms of land use. At the same time, hemp is considered to improve soil structure and soil fertility. It’s hard to believe but true: everything that can be made from oil could be made from hemp. In other words: hemp is an environmentally friendly alternative to plastic. Unfortunately, this raw material lost its image in the 1930s. That should finally change again when it comes to brands like Bad Seeds.

Nothing is impossible: If there is no hemp for textile use in Italy, then it will be grown.

Unfortunately, there is still no hemp for the textile industry in Italy. That is why the brand obtains its textiles from Eastern Europe through a German wholesaler who has been selling natural materials for 30 years and who controls and guarantees their origin and the way they work. But that should change. The Bad Seeds Company has grown 82 hectares for research purposes and, together with a research institute, is trying to adapt the old Italian knowledge of textile hemp to today’s needs.

Bad Seeds Italia

Sustainable, environmentally friendly and “sourced” in Europe.

The Bad Seeds Company clearly relies on the exclusive use of sustainable and environmentally friendly substances. In this case, these are hemp and recycled cotton that come from Europe. The advantage? Short delivery routes. They work exclusively with medium-sized companies in Italy, where the workforce has a family tradition. Personal contact is at the top of the agenda. That is why they know their tailors and knitters personally. Speaking of recycled cotton: An Italian company produces it with little energy and water from old jeans, which are shredded and processed into new yarn. The Bad Seeds Company uses this denim yarn to produce the 2ndLife knitwear collection in a small knitting in Lecce. The jeans are sewn in a factory in the Molise region. The rest of the collection is made in Neumarkt’s own tailor’s shop, because Laura has many years of experience in sewing natural materials such as hemp, linen and nettle fabrics.

When it comes to transparency, personal contact is at the top of the Italian brand’s agenda.

Good to know: Not all raw materials used are certified. For Bad Seeds Italia, certifications count when they make sense. The Bad Seeds Company is PETA APPROVED VEGAN. The headquarter of the manufacture and flagship store “BSC-Italia” is in Neumarkt.

More about Bad Seeds Italia. Click here

© Ester Suave Photography

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on whatsapp

Skip to content

ANZEIGE

Slider
The Bad Seeds Company – made from hemp

The Bad Seeds Company – made from hemp

Latzhosen, Denim Jackets, Jumper, Oversize Hemden, Shirtdresses sowie Rucksäcke, Schultertaschen & Co. entwerfen und fertigen die Mutter Barbara und Tochter Sofia Geier für ihr Label Bad Seeds Italia in Neumarkt in Südtirol. Und zwar aus Hanf.

Für dieses Material haben sich die Gründer von The Bad Seeds Company ganz aktiv entschieden, um das Image der uralten Nutzpflanze wieder zu verbessern und eine nachhaltige Alternative zur klassischen Baumwolle zu liefern. Apropos Gründer: Das sind Barbara Trenti und ihr Mann Andreas Geier. Später wurde das Duo um die Hamburgerin Katrin Taylor Voss erweitert.

Jahrhunderte lang war Hanf „der Globalplayer“ im Textilbereich. Wir wollen nichts Neues erfinden. Wir wollen nur, dass eine Jahrhunderte alte Erfolgsgeschichte nicht in Vergessenheit gerät.

Und was ist daran dann „bad“? Eigentlich sind die Hanfsamen ja Good Seeds („gute Samen“). Aber leider sind sie in vielen Köpfen noch (!) negativ abgespeichert. „Und „bad“ passt zu uns, weil wir in der Modebranche gegen den Strom schwimmen und keine Kompromisse eingehen wollen“, erklärt The Bad Seeds Company-Gründerin Barbara Trenti die Herkunft des Label-Namens.

Warum Hanf? Dafür gibt es jede Menge Gründe.

Hanf ist nicht nur eine der ältesten Nutzpflanzen (Textilien, Seile, Öl etc.) überhaupt. Hanf braucht auch kaum Pestizide und Herbizide, da es nicht intensiv kultiviert wird. Die unkomplizierte Nutzpflanze ist sehr resistent gegen Schädlinge und sparsam, was den Wasserbedarf angeht. Außerdem wächst Hanf schnell nach und ist effizient hinsichtlich der Flächennutzung. Gleichzeitig gilt Hanf als Verbesserer der Bodenstruktur und der Bodenfruchtbarkeit. Kaum zu glauben aber wahr: Aus Hanf könnte all das hergestellt werden, was man auch aus Erdöl herstellen kann. Sprich: Hanf ist eine umweltfreundliche Alternative zu Kunststoff. Leider hat dieser Rohstoff in den 30er Jahren des 20. Jahrhunderts an Image eingebüßt. Das soll sich, wenn es nach Brands wie The Bad Seeds Company geht, endlich wieder ändern.

Geht nicht, gibt’s nicht: Wenn es in Italien keinen textil nutzbaren Hanf gibt, dann wird er eben angebaut.

Leider gibt es in Italien noch keinen Hanf für die Textilindustrie. Deshalb bezieht die Brand ihre Textilien aus Osteuropa über einen deutschen Großhändler, der schon seit 30 Jahren Naturstoffe verkauft und die Herkunft bzw. die Arbeitsweise kontrolliert und garantiert. Aber das soll sich ändern. Zu Forschungszwecken hat The Bad Seeds Company 82 Hektar angebaut und versucht gemeinsam mit einem Forschungsinstitut das alte italienische Wissen über textilen Hanf an die heutigen Bedürfnisse anzupassen.

Bad Seeds Italia

Nachhaltig, umweltfreundlich und „sourced“ in Europa.

The Bad Seeds Company setzt ganz klar auf die ausschließliche Verwendung nachhaltiger und umweltfreundlicher Stoffe. In diesem Fall sind das Hanf und recycelte Baumwolle, die aus Europa stammen. Der Vorteil?  Kurze Lieferwege. Gearbeitet wird ausschließlich mit mittelständischen Unternehmen in Italien, wo die Belegschaft eine Familientradition hat. Der persönliche Kontakt steht ganz oben auf der Agenda. Deshalb kennen sie ihre Schneider und Stricker persönlich. Apropos recycelte Baumwolle: Die stellt eine italienische Firma mit wenig Aufwand an Energie und Wasser aus alten Jeans, die geschreddert und zu neuem Garn verarbeitet werden, her. Aus diesem Denim-Garn lässt The Bad Seeds Company in einer kleinen Strickerei in Lecce die 2ndLife Strickkollektion produzieren. Die Jeans werden in einer Manufaktur in der Region Molise genäht. Der Rest der Kollektion entsteht in Neumarkt in der eigenen Schneiderei, denn Schneiderin Laura hat langjährige Erfahrung im Nähen von natürlichen Materialien wie Hanf, Leinen und Nesselstoffen.

Wenn es um Transparenz geht, steht der persönliche Kontakt ganz oben auf der Agenda der italienischen Brand.

Gut zu wissen: Nicht alle verwendeten Rohstoffe sind zertifiziert. Zertifizierungen zählen für The Bad Seeds Company dann, wenn sie sinnvoll sind. Die Brand ist PETA APPROVED VEGAN. Sitz von Manufaktur und Flagshipstore „BSC-Italia“ ist Neumarkt.

Mehr über The Bad Seeds Company erfahren. Hier klicken

© Ester Suave Photography

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on whatsapp