Skip to content
Workshop & book: Mending Queen Kate Sekules

Workshop & book: Mending Queen Kate Sekules

Keeping clothes in circulation longer is one of the most important approaches in sustainable fashion. Kate Sekules agrees. The mending master from Brooklyn has therefore written a book about "fashionable repairs". Visible mending elevated to an art form as a fashion statement and political act at the same time.

Join the workshop on 10. April 10 at 4 pm (European time):

Meeting-ID: 572 131 7171
Kenncode: 539013

 

Workshop: Dr Mend's Workshop: Dr Mend's

SIGN UP NOW FOR FREE

Saturday, April 10th at 4 p.m.

 
Make an appointment at Dr. Mend’s surgery for your sick or injured garment. Get a personal consultation and a prescription for your rip, hole, stain, or damage. See other cases and treatments and medication in progress live! We will end with a live tutorial on Dr Kate’s signature Patchiko mend. Materials: a hole, a patch large enough to generously cover it, needle and thread: embroidery floss is ideal. 

Language: english. Duration: 90 min.

 

“Mending is the next radical and easily accessible movement in sustainable fashion” I read recently. The subject seems to be everywhere right now. Probably because it doesn’t take anything more than a needle, thread and a little patience. But that is only partially true. It’s about keeping clothes in circulation longer, caring for them, repairing them, mending them, embroidering them and much more. Kate Sekules has written a book about this: “Mend! A Refashioning Manual and Manifesto “. The Brooklyn-based Brit is one of the most powerful voices in the growing mending community. She is an advocate of “visible mending”, which means that instead of keeping repairs as invisible as possible, mending should be as visible as possible. As a fashion statement and a political act at the same time.

We need fashion to make us feel good Kate Sekules

What makes the book so exciting? It offers a well-founded historical overview – because patches and repairs have been around for as long as textiles have existed. Kate takes us (even the inexperienced) by the hand and guides us through the various techniques and diverse possibilities of mending. “Seed stitch? Split stitch? Herringbone? Eyelet? Cross stitch? Sashiko? Patchiko? No problem after reading the book. It’s unbelievable what great things you can do. I’m just about to try it out myself. The many pictures and illustrations really make you want to be creative.

Mending

MEND! Leads the slow fashion revolution into its next phase.

Likewise in the book: everything it takes to get started, including everything that is not needed. Charts about the different materials and how easy or difficult they are to mend, tips for caring for our clothes and ways to organize our closet (no, not like Marie Kondo), information about the fashion industry, especially Kate’s point of view on fast fashion. Not difficult to guess: Kate is a radical opponent of fast fashion. She describes her own style as: “Eclectic, playful, avant garde, multi-era, trending 1970s. I wear only vintage (and things that went vintage in my closet) and love and collect certain designers – CDG, Junya, Margiela, Dries, Zero Maria Cornejo, Bill Gibbs, and original Biba. ”

Kate’s creed: “There are no rules. There is no right way. And there is no wrong way.” So let’s start!

“Mend! A Refashioning Manual and Manifesto ”by Kate Sekules is published by Penguin. Order here >>>

Good to know: Kate Sekules will speak about mending live from New York on April 9th, 2021 as part of the GREENSTYLE +++ (Responsible) Fashion Summit +++.

Register now: On April 10, 21, Kate will hold a 90-minute mending workshop for GREENSTYLE followers (see above)

Skip to content

ANZEIGE

Workshop & Buch: Mending Queen Kate Sekules

Workshop & Buch: Mending Queen Kate Sekules

Kleidungsstücke länger im Kreislauf zu halten ist einer der wichtigsten Ansätze in der nachhaltigen Mode. Dieser Meinung ist auch Kate Sekules. Die Mending-Meisterin aus Brooklyn hat deshalb ein Buch über "fashionable Reparaturen" geschrieben. Sichtbares, zur Kunstform erhobenes Ausbessern als modisches Statement und politischer Akt gleichermaßen.

Hier am 10. April 2021 um 16 Uhr am Workshop teilnehmen:

Meeting-ID: 572 131 7171
Kenncode: 539013

Workshop: Dr Mend's Workshop: Dr Mend's

JETZT KOSTENLOS REGISTRIEREN

Samstag, 10. April um 16 Uhr

 
Vereinbaren Sie einen Termin in der Praxis von Dr. Mend für Ihr krankes oder verletztes Kleidungsstück. Holen Sie sich eine persönliche Beratung und ein Rezept für Ihren Riss, Ihr Loch, Ihren Fleck oder Ihre Beschädigung. Sehen Sie andere Fälle und Behandlungen und Medikamente, die gerade laufen, live! Wir werden mit einem Live-Tutorial zu Dr. Kates Unterschrift Patchiko Mend enden. Materialien: ein Loch, ein Fleck, der groß genug ist, um es großzügig zu bedecken, Nadel und Faden: Stickgarn ist ideal.
 
Sprache: Englisch. Dauer: 90 min.

 

„Mending ist die nächste radikale und leicht zugängliche Bewegung in der nachhaltigen Mode“ habe ich vor kurzem gelesen. Das Thema scheint gerade überall zu sein. Vermutlich, weil es dazu nicht mehr braucht als Nadel, Faden und ein wenig Geduld. Mending kann man auf deutsch etwas holprig als Ausbessern übersetzen. Aber das trifft es nur bedingt. Es geht darum, Kleidungsstücke länger im Kreislauf zu halten, sie zu pflegen, zu reparieren, zu flicken, zu besticken und vieles mehr. Kate Sekules hat dazu ein Buch geschrieben: „Mend! A Refashioning Manual and Manifesto“. Die Britin mit Wohnsitz in Brooklyn ist eine der kräftigsten Stimmen in der stetig wachsenden Mending-Community. Sie ist eine Verfechterin des „visible mending“, das heißt, anstatt die Reparaturen so unsichtbar wie möglich zu halten, soll das Ausbessern so sichtbar wie möglich sein. Als modisches Statement und politischer Akt gleichermaßen.

We need fashion to make us feel good Kate Sekules

Was das Buch so spannend macht? Es bietet einen fundierten historischen Überblick – denn geflickt und repariert hat man schon seit es Textilien gibt. Kate nimmt uns (auch die Ungeübten) an der Hand und führt uns durch die verschiedenen Techniken und vielfältigen Möglichkeiten des Mending. „Seed Stich? Split Stich? Herringbone? Eyelet? Cross Stich? Sashiko? Patchiko? Alles kein Problem nach der Lektüre des Buches. Es ist unglaublich was für tolle Sachen man machen kann. Ich bin selbst gerade dabei, es auszuprobieren. Die vielen Bilder und Illustrationen machen richtig Lust auf die eigene Kreativität.

Mending

MEND! Leads the slow fashion revolution into its next phase.

Ebenso im Buch: was es alles braucht, um zu starten, auch was es alles nicht braucht. Charts zu den verschiedenen Materialien und wie leicht oder schwer sie zu „menden“ sind, Pflegetipps für unsere Kleidungsstücke und Möglichkeiten unseren Schrank zu organisieren (nein, nicht á la Marie Kondo), Infos zur Modeindustrie, vor allem Kates Standpunkt zu Fast Fashion. Nicht schwierig zu erraten: Kate ist radikale Fast Fashion Gegnerin. Ihren eigenen Stil beschreibt sie als: „Eclectic, playful, avant garde, multi-era, trending 1970s. I wear only vintage (and things that went vintage in my closet) and love and collect certain designers – CDG, Junya, Margiela, Dries, Zero Maria Cornejo, Bill Gibbs, and original Biba.”

Kates Credo: „Es gibt keine Regeln. Es gibt keinen richtigen Weg. Und es gibt keinen falschen Weg.“ Also lasst uns starten!

„Mend! A Refashioning Manual and Manifesto” von Kate Sekules ist bei Penguin erschienen. Hier bestellen >>>

Gut zu wissen: Kate Sekules wird am 9.4.2021 im Rahmen des GREENSTYLE +++ (Responsible) Fashion Summit +++ live aus New York über Mending sprechen.

Register now: Am 10.4.21 hält Kate für GREENSTYLE Follower einen 90minüten Mending Workshop (hier anmelden)

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on whatsapp