Skip to content

ANZEIGE

Slider
ALILA

ALILA

Barbara Lindner is a cultural manager. Yet, since 2008, her label ALILA (Sanskrit: “surprise”) has been deconstructing Japanese kimono silk with local master tailors to create unique dresses, bags and scarves with history.

The impressive selection of gorgeous kimono fabrics is the result of Barbara Lindner’s years of collecting. Early on, she collected fabrics from all over the world and brought them to Vienna.

„The appreciation of textile traditions and craftsmanship is one aspect of sustainability.”

The idea to create her own brand was triggered by a gift from a friend who was enthusiastic about traditional textile art. The resounding success of her first designs among her friends finally led to the founding of the label, and Barbara began to turn her XL collecting passion and appreciation for traditional textiles into a profession. The worn garments are thus given a brilliant second chance. Where does she get the precious fabrics from? Through personal contacts, which she maintains with Japanese flea markets and second-hand shops.

ALILA – Clothing with character and individual history

The kimono fabrics are not new. ALILA does not regard textile flaws as faults, but as charming features because each piece has a distinctive character and tells an individual story.

Alila
© Stephan Friesinger

Japanese silk x „Mühlviertler“ organic linen

Because this type of vintage fabric is becoming increasingly rare, the ALILA founder combines traditional Japanese textiles with new fabrics from sustainable or local production. The portfolio includes “Mühlviertler” organic linen, plant-dyed wool from Austria as well as plant-dyed Peacesilk (Ahimsa silk) and hand-woven Indian organic cotton.

“I have stopped justifying my prices when compared to prices of fashion chains.”

The vintage fabrics have come a long way before they land on the sewing table. Production is carried out under socially fair conditions by a small team in Vienna.

More about ALILA. Click here

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on whatsapp

Skip to content

ANZEIGE

Slider
ALILA

ALILA

Eigentlich ist Barbara Lindner Kultur-Managerin. Für ihr Label ALILA (Sanskrit: „Überraschung“) dekonstruiert sie jedoch mit lokalen Schneidermeisterinnen seit 2008 japanische Kimono-Seide, um einzigartige Kleider, Taschen und Schals mit Geschichte zu schaffen.

Die beeindruckende Auswahl an traumhaften Kimonostoffen ist das Ergebnis von Barbara Lindners jahrelanger Sammelarbeit. Schon früh hat sie begonnen, Stoffe aus der ganzen Welt nach Wien zu bringen.

„Die Wertschätzung textiler Traditionen und Handwerke sind ein Aspekt der Nachhaltigkeit.“

Ausgelöst wurde die Idee, eine eigene Brand zu schaffen, durch ein Geschenk einer Freundin, die um die Begeisterung für traditionelle Textilkunst wusste. Der durchschlagende Erfolg ihrer ersten Entwürfe im Freundeskreis hat schließlich zur Labelgründung geführt, und Barbara begann aus ihrer XL-Sammelleidenschaft und Wertschätzung für traditionelle Textilien eine Profession zu machen. Den getragenen Kleidungsstücken wird so eine glanzvolle zweite Chance gegeben. Woher sie die kostbaren Stoffe bezieht? Über persönliche Kontakte, die sie zu japanischen Flohmärkten und Second Hand Läden pflegt.

ALILA – Kleidung mit Charakter und individueller Geschichte

Neu sind die Kimonostoffe natürlich nicht. Aber textile Makel werden bei ALILA nicht als Fehler betrachtet, sondern als charmante Eigenschaft, denn jedes Stück hat einen unverwechselbaren Charakter und erzählt eine individuelle Geschichte.

Alila
© Stephan Friesinger

Japanische Seide x Mühlviertler Bio-Leinen

Und weil diese Art von Vintage-Stoffen immer rarer wird, kombiniert die ALILA-Gründerin die japanischen Traditionstextilien mit neuwertigen Stoffen aus nachhaltiger beziehungsweise lokaler Produktion. Im Portfolio findet sich da Mühlviertler Bio-Leinen, pflanzengefärbte Wolle aus Österreich genauso wie pflanzengefärbte Peacesilk (Ahimsaseide) und handgewebte indische Bio-Baumwolle.

„Ich habe aufgehört meine Preise zu rechtfertigen, wenn sie mit Preisen von Modeketten verglichen werden.“

Die Vintagestoffe haben einen langen Weg hinter sich, bis sie auf dem Nähtisch landen. Produziert wird unter sozial-fairen Bedingungen in einem kleinen Team in Wien.

Mehr erfahren über ALILA. Hier klicken

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on whatsapp