Skip to content
Tashay – inspired by nature

Tashay – inspired by nature

Tashay is more than fashion. Tashay is the dream come true of the Argentinean Adriana Castillo, who with the establishment of her label brings traditional textile work made of exclusive natural fibers to Europe and thus supports small and medium-sized certified companies from Peru to southern Argentina.

After studying business administration, Adriana Castillo came to Germany to do her Masters in International Business in Nuremberg. The native Argentine had nothing to do with textiles. After various positions in sales, marketing, corporate management and consulting at renowned international companies and banks, the idea arose to combine her Latin American culture with that of Europe. Her innate “artisan gene” and her interest in social and economic issues, the development of international relationships, especially in the Spanish-speaking world and in her home region of South America, finally led to the founding of her label and online shop TASHAY in Bad Homburg in 2019.

Tashay

Adriana’s goal? The creation of jobs that respect traditional textile weaving techniques and the Andean culture, revaluing the heritage of Latin America.

The now B Corp-certified company supports textile productions in South America, which stand for the best quality and sustainability, craftsmanship and individuality. Adriana’s commitment helps to enhance culture and work in remote areas such as the Andes, from Peru to southern Argentina. And that women, who play an important role in the production of the fibers and the manufacture of the products, can develop their respect. It is particularly important to Adriana to create and permanently protect jobs in remote communities in the Andes, with the greatest respect for the environment, the people involved in the entire process and the quality of the garments.

Because we protect our earth through fair clothing and strict standards. Adriana Castillo

Tashay

Her XL ponchos and sweaters and cozy hats are made using traditional weaving techniques that are passed down from generation to generation in Andean communities and local businesses. Tashay works exclusively with small, certified companies and craftsmen to ensure the highest standards in terms of social and ecological performance, transparency and corporate responsibility. And – another important aspect – to maintain traditional craft techniques. Adriana knows all of her trading partners in South America personally. The entrepreneur spends a lot of time in her old home to make new contacts with craft businesses, farmers and wool merchants. And of course, to personally convince yourself of the working conditions on site.

Each part of TASHAY is unique and stands for pure individuality.

Good to know: Llama (fiber)

The llamas are kept in a species-appropriate manner in the wild. The animals are sheared manually once a year. The fiber is warm, light, robust, water-repellent and has excellent insulation properties. It has a temperature balancing effect and is hypoallergenic, as it consists of natural proteins with a very low proportion of lanolin and fat. The natural llama fiber also has an antibacterial effect. In other words: bacteria cannot multiply on their surface and die. The llama fiber is biodegradable.

Tashay is Quechua and means “abundant harvest”.

The Tashay collections are based on the natural colors of wool. In other words: natural, black and various gray and brown tones. Natural dyes from the region are used, which are obtained from woods, seeds, plants and herbs. This means that harmful chemicals can be avoided as far as possible. The result: high-quality, nature-loving premium products that combine the cultures of Adriana’s homeland and her adopted home.

Discover the whole Tashay collection here >>>

Skip to content
Tashay – inspired by nature

Tashay – inspired by nature

Tashay ist mehr als Mode. Tashay ist der wahr gewordene Traum der Argentinierin Adriana Castillo, die mit der Gründung ihres Labels traditionelle Textilarbeiten aus exklusiven Naturfasern nach Europa bringt und damit kleine und mittlere zertifizierte Betriebe von Peru bis Südargentinien unterstützt.

Nach ihrem BWL-Studium kam Adriana Castillo nach Deutschland, um in Nürnberg ihren Master in International Business zu machen. Mit Textilien hatte die gebürtige Argentinierin nichts am Hut. Nach verschiedenen Stationen im Vertrieb, Marketing, Unternehmensführung und Beratung bei renommierten internationalen Unternehmen und Banken ist die Idee entstanden, ihre lateinamerikanische Kultur mit der europäischen zu verbinden. Ihr angeborenes „Handwerker-Gen“ und ihr Interesse an sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Fragen, der Entwicklung internationaler Beziehungen, vor allem in der spanischsprachigen Welt und in ihrer Heimatregion Südamerika, haben schließlich 2019 zur Gründung ihres Labels und Onlineshops TASHAY in Bad Homburg geführt.

Tashay

Adrianas Ziel? Die Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen, die die traditionellen Textilwebtechniken respektieren und die Kultur der Anden, das Erbe Lateinamerikas wieder aufzuwerten.

Das inzwischen B Corp-zertifizierte Unternehmen unterstützt Textilproduktionen in Südamerika, die für beste Qualität und Nachhaltigkeit, Handarbeit und Individualität stehen. Adrianas Engagement trägt dazu bei, dass Kultur und Arbeit in abgelegenen Gebieten wie den Anden, von Peru bis Südargentinien, aufgewertet wird. Und das Frauen, die eine wichtige Rolle bei der Erzeugung der Fasern und der Herstellung der Produkte spielen, ihre Achtung ausbauen können. Besonders wichtig ist Adriana die Schaffung und der dauerhafte Schutz von Arbeitsplätzen in entlegenen Gemeinschaften in den Anden, bei höchstem Respekt für die Umwelt, die am gesamten Prozess beteiligten Menschen und die Qualität der Kleidungsstücke.

Weil wir durch faire Kleidung und strenge Standards unsere Erde schonen. Adriana Castillo

Tashay

Ihre XL-Ponchos und Pullover und kuscheligen Mützen werden mit traditionellen Webtechniken hergestellt, die von Generation zu Generation in andinen Gemeinden und lokalen Betrieben weitergegeben werden. Tashay arbeitet ausschließlich mit kleinen, zertifizierten Unternehmen und Handwerkern zusammen, um höchste Standards in Bezug auf soziale und ökologische Leistung, Transparenz und unternehmerische Verantwortung sicherzustellen. Und – ein weiterer wichtiger Aspekt – um die traditionellen Handwerkstechniken aufrechtzuerhalten. Ihre Handelspartner in Südamerika kennt Adriana alle persönlich. Die Unternehmerin verbringt viel Zeit in ihrer alten Heimat, um neue Kontakte zu Handwerksbetrieben, Bauern und Wollhändlern zu knüpfen. Und natürlich, um sich persönlich von den Arbeitsbedingungen vor Ort zu überzeugen.

Jedes Teil von TASHAY ist ein Unikat und steht für pure Individualität.

Gut zu wissen: Lama(faser)

Die Lamas werden artgerecht in der freien Natur gehalten. Die Tiere werden einmal pro Jahr manuell geschoren. Die Faser ist warm, leicht, widerstandsfähig, wasserabweisend und besitzt hervorragende Isolationseigenschaften. Sie wirkt Temperatur ausgleichend und ist hypoallergen, da sie aus natürlichen Proteinen mit sehr geringen Lanolinanteil und Fett besteht. Die naturbelassene Lamafaser hat zudem eine antibakterielle Wirkung. Heißt: Auf ihrer Oberfläche können sich Bakterien nicht vermehren und sterben ab. Die Lamafaser ist biologisch abbaubar.

Tashay ist Quechua und bedeutet “üppige Ernte“.

Die Tashay-Kollektionen basieren auf den natürlichen Farben der Wolle. Sprich: naturbelassen, Schwarz sowie verschiedene Grau- und Brauntöne. Verwendet werden natürliche Farbstoffe aus der Region, die aus Hölzern, Samen, Pflanzen und Kräutern gewonnen werden. Schädliche Chemikalien können dadurch weitestgehend vermieden werden. Das Ergebnis: hochwertige, naturverbundene Premiumprodukte, die die Kulturen von Adrianas Heimat und ihrer Wahlheimat verbinden.

Hier die ganze Tashay Kollektion entdecken >>>