Skip to content

ANZEIGE

Seads – circular Espandrilles

Seads – circular Espandrilles

With her colorful unisex Ocean Plastic Espandrilles, Seads founder Agnes Wagter not only ensures relaxed, elegant summer vibes. With her circular shoe label, she helps to reduce and recycle marine and packaging waste and, by the way, to draw attention to one of our biggest environmental problems, plastic waste.

Actually, Agnes Wagter, who herself was blessed with shoe size 43, wanted to design a shoe line for big feet. During a walk on the beach after a stormy night, she spontaneously changed her concept. She wanted to keep making shoes. But shoes with a mission. Her models should help reduce the biggest problem facing our oceans, plastic waste. The model? Espandrilles. Interpreted in a modern way. Classic, as a slip-on and as a jogger with laces. It goes without saying that Seads produces their bright, good-mood shoes in sizes 36 to 46. Because every size matters!

Seads

The completely circular Seads concept:

Marine litter pollutes the planet and is a valuable raw material at the same time. If you use it properly, the oceans will become a little bit cleaner without wasting new raw materials..
Part of the profits will be donated to organizations that are committed to finding a solution to the plastic problem on the planet.
Seads should solve a problem without becoming it. It goes without saying that the espandrilles were developed in such a way that they can be recycled and new products can be created from them.

Seads

Reduce the plastic footprint with every step. It couldn’t be better.

Currently, 12 million tons of plastic end up in our oceans every year. That corresponds to the contents of a garbage truck that is dumped into the sea every minute. Ascending trend. That is why Agnes has looked for partners with whose help marine and landfill-bound plastic can be transformed into high-quality good-mood products with a message.

It’s not about saying ‘no’ to plastic. It’s about saying ‘no’ to throwing plastic away

The Seaqual Initiative brings together NGOs, local communities, fishermen, research institutes, regional and national authorities, brands and manufacturers in the fight against plastic pollution. In cooperation with the waste management and recycling industry, she produces upcycled marine plastic and uses it to make Seaqual® Yarn, which is used to make knitted espandrilles.

Seads

Voila, the Seads materials

Seaqual® Yarn is used for the upper material. This is 100 percent recycled yarn, 10 percent from upcycled marine plastic and 90 percent from recycled PET packaging from households. Every kilo of Seaqual® Yarn removes around one kilo of marine litter from the oceans.
The three models contain two to four percent elastic thread that can be extracted before recycling.
Recycled (and fully recyclable) polyester that has a lower carbon footprint than new polyester and uses 70 percent less energy to manufacture.
Vegan leather made from recycled polyester, which can be produced free of pollutants, without toxic waste water and exhaust gases.
100 percent biodegradable jute.
100 percent recyclable and biodegradable natural rubber

But the less-waste concept doesn’t stop with the material: Together with RePack, Seads is committed to combating plastic waste caused by eCommerce. The RePacks, which can be reused up to 50 times, are made from recycled polypropylene, which is 100 percent recycled at the end of its useful life and makes disposable materials such as bubble wrap, plastic and cardboard superfluous. Pssst: In order not to cause unnecessary returns, there is the size chart to help you find the perfect pair.

Seads

From garbage to treasure and new products. Again, again and again.

And because the espandrilles shouldn’t end up in the bin at the end of their lifecycle either, the Essen brand is doing something together with Iteratif. Europe’s first fully circular shoe production platform ensures that the life of espandrilles goes on and on. Applied? Order RePack by email, bag the seeds and send them back for upcycling. Back home, they are broken down into their material components and recycled into raw material, so that they can then be processed again into new beads.

The future of fashion is circular. Seads espandrilles are already today.

And how did the octopus get into the logo? The octopus can adapt to its surroundings and, thanks to its three hearts and nine brains, is extremely intelligent, agile and capable of learning. For Seads, the octopus embodies action, transformation and change. After all, that’s what we all want!

Learn more about Seads and discover the collection >>>

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on whatsapp

Skip to content

ANZEIGE

Slider
Seads – zirkuläre Espandrilles

Seads – zirkuläre Espandrilles

Mit ihren farbenfrohen Unisex Ocean Plastic Espandrilles sorgt Seads-Gründerin Agnes Wagter nicht nur für entspannt-elegante Sommer Vibes. Sie hilft mit ihrem zirkulären Schuhlabel Meeres- und Verpackungsmüll zu reduzieren und zu recyceln und ganz nebenbei auf eines unserer größten Umweltprobleme, den Plastikmüll, aufmerksam zu machen.

Eigentlich wollte Agnes Wagter, selber mit Schuhgröße 43 gesegnet, eine Schuhlinie für große Füße entwerfen. Bei einem Strandspaziergang nach einer stürmischen Nacht hat sie spontan ihr Konzept geändert. Schuhe wollte sie weiterhin machen. Aber Schuhe mit Mission. Ihre Modelle sollten dazu beitragen, das größte Problem unserer Ozeane, den Plastikmüll, zu reduzieren. Das Modell? Espandrilles. Modern interpretiert. Klassisch, als Slip-on und als Jogger mit Schnürsenkeln. Klar, dass ihre leuchtenden Gute-Laune-Schuhe bei Seads in den Größen 36 bis 46 produziert werden. Denn every size matters!

Seads

Das rundum zirkuläre Seads Konzept:

⊕ Meeresmüll verschmutzt den Planeten und ist gleichzeitig ein wertvoller Rohstoff. Nutzt man diesen richtig, werden die Meere ein kleines bisschen sauberer ohne neuen Rohstoff zu verschwenden.
⊕ Ein Teil des Gewinns wird an Organisationen gespendet, die sich der Suche nach Lösung für das Plastikproblem des Planeten verschrieben haben.
⊕ Seads soll ein Problem lösen ohne selber zu diesem zu werden. Klar, dass die Espandrilles so entwickelt wurden, dass sie recycelt werden und aus ihnen neue Produkte entstehen können.

Seads

Den Plastik-Fußabdruck mit jedem Schritt reduzieren. Besser geht’s nicht.

Aktuell gelangen jedes Jahr 12 Millionen Tonnen Plastik in unsere Meere. Das entspricht dem Inhalt eines Müllwagens, der jede Minute ins Meer gekippt wird. Tendenz steigend. Deshalb hat sich Agnes Partner gesucht, mit deren Hilfe Meeres- sowie deponiegebundenes Plastik in hochwertige Gute-Laune-Produkte mit Message verwandelt werden.

Es geht nicht darum ’nein‘ zu Plastik zu sagen. Es geht darum ’nein‘ zum Wegwerfen von Plastik zu sagen

Die Seaqual Initiative vereint NGOs, lokale Gemeinden, Fischer, Forschungsinstitute, regionale und nationale Behörden, Marken und Hersteller im Kampf gegen die Plastikverschmutzung. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Abfallwirtschaft und der Recyclingindustrie fertigt sie upgecycltes Meeresplastik an und stellt daraus Seaqual® Yarn her, aus dem Strick-Espandrilles gefertigt werden.

Seads

Voila, die Seads Materialien

⊕ Für das Obermaterial wird Seaqual® Yarn verwendet. Das ist zu 100 Prozent recyceltes Garn, das zu 10 Prozent aus upgecyceltem Meereskunststoff besteht und zu 90 Prozent aus recyceltem PET-Verpackungsmüll aus Haushalten. Jedes Kilo Seaqual® Yarn reinigt etwa ein Kilo Meeresmüll aus den Ozeanen.
⊕ Die drei Modelle enthalten zwei bis vier Prozent Gummifaden, der vor dem recyceln extrahiert werden kann.
⊕ Recyceltes (und vollständig recycelbares) Polyester, das einen geringeren CO2-Fußabdruck als neues Polyester hat und 70 Prozent weniger Energie bei der Herstellung benötigt.
⊕ Veganes Leder aus recyceltem Polyester, das schadstofffrei, ohne giftige Abwässer und Abgase hergestellt werden kann.
⊕ 100 Prozent biologisch abbaubare Jute.
⊕ 100 Prozent recycelbare und biologisch abbaubarer Naturkautschuk

Aber beim Material hört das Less-Waste-Konzept noch lange nicht auf: Gemeinsam mit RePack engagiert sich Seads gegen den Plastikmüll, der durch den eCommerce verursacht wird. Die bis zu 50 Mal wiederverwendbaren RePacks werden aus recyceltem Polypropylen hergestellt, das am Ende seiner Nutzungsdauer zu 100 Prozent recycelt wird und Einwegmaterialien wie Luftpolsterfolie, Plastik und Pappe überflüssig machen. Pssst: Um keine unnötigen Retouren zu verursachen gibt es die Größentabelle, die dabei hilft das perfekte Paar zu finden.

Seads

Vom Müll zum Schatz und neuen Produkten. Again, again and again.

Und weil auch die Espandrilles am Ende ihres Lebenszyklus nicht in der Tonne landen sollen, macht das Essener Brand gemeinsame Sache mit Iteratif. Europas erste vollständig zirkuläre Schuhproduktionsplattform sorgt dafür, dass das Leben der Espandrilles immer und immer weiter geht. Aufgetragen? RePack per Mail bestellen, Seads eintüten und zum Upcycling zurücksenden. Back home werden sie in ihre Materialbestandteile zerlegt und zu Rohmaterial recycelt, um anschließend wieder zu neuen Seads verarbeitet werden zu können.

The future of fashion is circular. Seads Espandrilles sind das heute schon.

Und wie ist der Oktopus ins Logo gehuscht? Der Oktopus kann sich an seine Umgebung anpassen und ist dank seiner drei Herzen und neun Gehirne extrem intelligent, wendig und lernfähig. Für Seads verkörpert der Oktopus Aktion, Transformation und Veränderung. Und das wollen wir doch schließlich alle!

Noch mehr über Seads erfahren und die Kollektion entdecken >>>

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on whatsapp