Skip to content

ANZEIGE

Luxury brand or discounter? Both the same!

The corona pandemic hit the textile industry hard. The situation of the workers, which has so far not been particularly good, is becoming increasingly difficult. The economist Bettina Musiolek has been involved in the "Clean Clothes Campaign" for 25 years and co-founded the German platform "Campaign for Clean Clothes". The focus of the work is on the social aspects of the value chain, the aim is to create decent working conditions.

Bettina Musiolek primarily deals with the countries of Eastern and South-Eastern Europe *. Without counting Turkey, about 1.5 million people work there who produce our fashion. The corona crisis has worsened their working conditions even more. “The companies pass the cost pressure on to the workers, nervousness and aggressiveness increased, employees were forced to take vacation, others had to work, but for half the wages,” Susanne Barta reveals in the video interview. Important to know: Before the crisis, your wages were at the minimum wage level

This affects not only the fast fashion industry. These practices can also be found in the production for high-priced luxury companies.

Labor laws in the clothing industry are currently even less observed than before Corona.

“There are no fundamental systemic differences between Europe and Asia”

Musiolek emphasizes that the difference in power and influence in the supply chains was made even more visible by Corona. “The conditions are set by the brands and retailers, not the production companies.” Hence the consistent demand of the Clean Clothes Campaign: the fashion brands have to provide a wage guarantee.

Clean Clothes Campaign demands: Fashion brands must provide a wage guarantee.

There is constant discussion about who is producing better and who is producing worse, the luxury sector or fast fashion chains? The Clean Clothes Campaign has done a lot of research here and comes to the conclusion that there are no serious differences. There are no major differences in production for luxury brands or discounters. They often produce in the same factory.

“The workers in the global supply chains are paying the price for the consequences of the pandemic” – Bettina Musiolek

Since 2013, the Rana Plaza factory in Bangladesh collapsed and buried more than a thousand people, discussions on the subject have increased. Those companies in particular are pioneers in terms of human rights responsibility in their supply chains, which the Clean Clothes Campaign has been targeting for a long time. We had our sights set on the big fashion brands. That is why the luxury industry is lagging behind.

But are there really any consequences?
“There is a lot of talk and no action follows.”

“For something to really change, you need pressure from civil society. And we need a supply chain law so that human rights violations are really punished. “

*Ukraine, Poland, Slovakia, Albania, Turkey, Bosnia, Bulgaria

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on whatsapp

Skip to content

ANZEIGE

Slider

Luxusmarke oder Discounter? Beide gleich!

Die Corona Pandemie hat die Textilindustrie hart getroffen. Die Lage der Arbeiter*innen, die schon bisher keine besonders gute war, wird zunehmend schwieriger. Die Ökonomin Bettina Musiolek engagiert sich seit 25 Jahren bei der „Clean Clothes Campaign“ und hat die deutsche Plattform „Kampagne für Saubere Kleidung“ mitbegründet. Der Fokus der Arbeit liegt auf den sozialen Aspekten der Wertschöpfungskette, Ziel ist die Schaffung von menschenwürdigen Arbeitsbedingungen.

Bettina Musiolek beschäftigt sich in erster Linie mit den Ländern Ost- und Südosteuropas*. Ohne die Türkei mitzurechnen arbeiten dort ca. 1,5 Millionen Menschen, die unsere Mode produzieren. Die Corona-Krise hat deren Arbeitsbedingungen nochmals verschlechtert. „Die Unternehmen geben den Kostendruck an die Arbeiter*innen weiter, Nervosität und Aggressivität nahmen zu, Beschäftigte wurden gezwungen Urlaub zu nehmen, andere wiederum mussten arbeiten, aber für die Hälfte des Lohnes.“ verrät sie im Video-Interview. Wichtig zu wissen: Ihr Lohn bewegte sich bereits vor der Krise auf der Ebene des Mindestlohnes.

Das betrifft nicht nur die Fast Fashion Industrie. Diese Praktiken finden sich genauso bei der Produktion für hochpreisige Luxusunternehmen.

Arbeitsgesetze in der Bekleidungsindustrie werden momentan noch weniger beachtet als vor Corona.

 Zwischen Europa und Asien gibt es keine grundlegenden systemischen Unterschiede.

Musiolek betont, dass das Macht- und Einflussgefälle in den Lieferketten durch Corona noch deutlicher sichtbar wurde. „Die Bedingungen stellen die Brands und Händler, nicht die Produktionsfirmen.“ Daher die konsequente Forderung der Clean Clothes Campaign: die Modemarken müssen eine Lohngarantie abgeben.

Forderung der Clean Clothes Campaign: Modemarken müssen eine Lohngarantie abgeben.

Immer wieder wird darüber diskutiert, wer denn nun besser und wer schlechter produziert, die Luxusbranche oder Fast Fashion-Ketten? Die Clean Clothes Campaign hat hier viel recherchiert und kommt zum Schluss, dass es keine gravierenden Unterschiede gibt. Häufig produzieren sie in derselben Fabrik.

„Die Arbeiter*innen der globalen Lieferketten zahlen den Preis für die Konsequenzen der Pandemie“ – Bettina Musiolek

Seit 2013 die Fabrik Rana Plaza in Bangladesch in sich zusammengestürzt ist und über tausend Menschen unter sich begrub, haben die Diskussionen zum Thema zugenommen. Besonders diejenigen Unternehmen sind Vorreiter bezüglich der menschenrechtlichen Verantwortung in ihren Lieferketten, die seit längerer Zeit unter Beobachtung der Clean Clothes Campaign gestanden haben. „Wir haben die großen Modemarken im Visier gehabt. Deshalb hinkt die Luxusbranche hinterher.“

Aber gibt es auch wirklich Konsequenzen?
„Es wird viel geredet und es folgen keine Taten.“

„Damit sich wirklich etwas verändern wird, braucht es Druck aus der Zivilgesellschaft. Und wir brauchen ein Lieferkettengesetz, damit Menschenrechtsverstöße auch wirklich geahndet werden.“

*Ukraine, Polen, Slowakei, Albanien, Türkei, Bosnien, Bulgarien

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on whatsapp