Skip to content
Interview: Viktor&Rolf x Calida

Interview: Viktor&Rolf x Calida

In January 2020, the Swiss lingerie brand, Calida, and the avant-garde luxury label, Viktor&Rolf, presented their joint Capsule Collection, "we want a better world" at NEONYT. Colorful, contemporary, insane details, and above all, 100 percent compostable.

Shimmering yellow, sky blue, signal red – Viktor & Rolf have always been known for colors and unusual patterns. The Dutch design duo has brought their iconic signature to the joint “we want a better world” collection with Swiss lingerie expert, Calida, and has added underwear, pajamas and T-shirts for men and women in 70s inspired allover prints and iconic frill details.

A TRULY GREEN STORY – a 100 percent compostable collection for a better world.

In addition to the spectacular designs, the cooperation is primarily about sustainability and about showing that high fashion and the highest standards of sustainability are not mutually exclusive. The bar has been set very high. “We want a better world” is double certified. Cradle-to-cradle and made in green by Oeko-Tex. What makes the collection so sustainable? The use of compostable, sustainable Tencel and Lyocell.

Inspired by the Haute-Couture – Viktor&Rolf x Calida

Underwear and loungewear are topics that are normally not on the couturiers’ agenda. What lead them to work with the Swiss lingerie expert from Oberkirch and what they learned about sustainability during this collaboration is revealed in an interview.

Viktor&Rolf
Viktor&Rolf

„We want a better world” is the first 100% biodegradable designer capsule collection.

GREENSTYLE: Viktor & Rolf is the epitome of haute couture. You don’t immediately think of underwear and pajamas. What attracted you to the cooperation with Calida?
Viktor&Rolf: We wanted to create a product that appeals to a wider audience. Underwear and pajamas are a comfortable necessity with a great sense of fashion. We were very pleased to work with a sustainable brand to create soft, comfortable and wearable garments.

Underwear and pajamas are a comfortable necessity with a great sense of fashion.

GREENSTYLE: “We want a better world” is not your first sustainable collaboration. You also cooperated with Zalando. The RE:CYCLE collection at that time was made from unsold garments of the last seasons. This time you are relying on cradle-to-cradle. What appeals to you when it comes to the various facets of sustainability?
Viktor&Rolf: The creativity that comes with conscious design. Finding new ways to be sustainable and at the same time producing an artistic approach and a high-quality product.

GREENSTYLE: Has this collaboration and the resulting insights changed your view on sustainability?
Viktor&Rolf: The creativity that comes with conscious design. Finding new ways to be sustainable while maintaining an artistic approach and a high quality product.
Viktor&Rolf: Yes, we have learned that more and more is possible. Calida is very innovative when it comes to sustainability. We are delighted to be part of the first 100% compostable collection with this unique cradle-to-cradle approach.

Viktor&Rolf
Viktor&Rolf

We have learned that more and more is possible.

GREENSTYLE: What impact will these cooperations have on future Viktor&Rolf collections?
Viktor&Rolf: Conscious design is an important facet for us as designers and as a fashion brand. We will continue to incorporate various mindful and conscious approaches in our work.

GREENSTYLE: Giorgio Armani has just written a brand letter calling for a deceleration of high fashion in order to reduce overproduction, among other things. What do you advise our readers to do?
Viktor&Rolf: Be careful and friendly.

GREENSTYLE: What is your vision of sustainable couture?
Viktor&Rolf: For us, couture is our experimental laboratory. In the past, we used vintage archive pieces as a basis for new creations. We have shown this in our Vagabonds collection 2016 and the Action Dolls collection.

 

Viktor&Rolf
Viktor&Rolf

For us, couture is our experimental laboratory.

For our collection “Boulevard of Broken Dreams” in 2017 we used – often damaged – vintage cocktail and evening wear from different decades. We put these fragments together with gold, inspired by Kintsugi, a principle of Japanese ceramics in which true beauty comes from imperfection. For “Spiritual Glamour” we used hand felted fabrics dyed with natural ingredients in collaboration with Claudy Jongstra. After we had almost exhausted our stock at our previous upcycling couture shows, we turned to our archive of fabric samples for our latest “Patchworks” collection.

GREENSTYLE: Are there any further plans for sustainable cooperation?
Viktor&Rolf: Stay tuned…

Good to know:
In 2016, CALIDA was the first lingerie label in the world to introduce the independent label MADE IN GREEN by Oeko-Tex®, which is awarded according to the strictest social and ecological criteria and is committed to transparency. This was followed in 2018 by the launch of the first 100% compostable T-shirt in the 100% NATURE series. The “we want a better world” Capsule Collection has been available in stores since May 2020 and a second edition will be available in October.

Interview: Viktor&Rolf x Calida

Mit einem Big Bäng haben die Schweizer Wäsche-Brand Calida und das avantgardistische Luxuslabel Viktor&Rolf ihre gemeinsam Capsule Collection „We want a better world“ auf der NEONYT im Januar 2020 präsentiert. Farbstark, zeitgeistig, Detail verliebt. Und vor allem zu 100 Prozent kompostierbar.

Flirrendes Gelb, Himmelblau, Signalrot – Viktor & Rolf sind seit jeher für Farben und außergewöhnliche Muster bekannt. Ihre ikonischen Erkennungszeichen hat das niederländische Design-Duo in die gemeinsame Kollektion „We want a better world“ mit dem Schweizer Wäscheexperten Calida eingebracht und Unterwäsche, Pyjamas und T-Shirts für Damen und Herren 70ies-inspirierte Allover-Prints und ikonischen Rüschen-Details verpasst.

A TRULY GREEN STORY – a 100 percent compostable collection for a better world.

Neben den spektakulären Designs geht es bei der Kooperation vor allem um Nachhaltigkeit und um zu zeigen, dass sich High Fashion und höchste Standards der Nachhaltigkeit nicht ausschließen. Und hier wurde die Messlatte ganz weit oben angebracht. „We Want a Better World“ ist doppelt zertifiziert. Und zwar Cradle-to-Cradle und Made in Green by Oeko-Tex. Was die Kollektion so nachhaltig macht? Die Verwendung von kompostierbarem, nachhaltigem Tencel und Lyocell.

Inspiriert von der Haute-Couture – Viktor&Rolf x Calida

Unterwäsche und Loungewear sind Themen, die normalerweise nicht auf der Agenda der Couturiers stehen. Was sie an der Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schweizer Wäscheexperten aus Oberkirch gereizt hat und was sie bei dieser Zusammenarbeit über Nachhaltigkeit gelernt haben, verraten die Beiden Mirjam Smend im Interview.

Viktor&Rolf
Viktor&Rolf

„We want a better world“ ist die erste zu 100 Prozent biologisch abbaubare Designer Capsule Collection.

GREENSTYLE: Viktor & Rolf ist der Inbegriff von Haute Couture. Man denkt nicht gleich an Unterwäsche und Pyjamas. Was hat Sie an der Kooperation mit Calida gereizt?
Viktor&Rolf: Wir wollten ein Produkt schaffen, das ein breiteres Publikum anspricht. Unterwäsche und Pyjamas sind eine bequeme Notwendigkeit mit einem großen Sinn für Mode. Wir haben uns sehr gefreut, mit einer nachhaltigen Marke zusammenzuarbeiten und weiche, bequeme und tragbare Kleidungsstücke zu kreieren.

Unterwäsche und Pyjamas sind eine bequeme Notwendigkeit mit einem großen Sinn für Mode.

GREENSTYLE: „We Want a Better World“ ist nicht Ihre erste nachhaltige Kooperation. Auch mit Zalando haben Sie bereits kooperiert. Die RE:CYCLE Kollektion wurde damals aus nicht-verkauften Kleidungsstücken der letzten Saisons gefertigt. Diesmal setzen Sie auf Cradle-to-Cradle. Was reizt sie an den verschiedenen Facetten der Nachhaltigkeit?
Viktor&Rolf: Die Kreativität, die mit bewusstem Design einhergeht. Neue Wege finden um nachhaltig zu sein und gleichzeitig einen künstlerischen Ansatz und ein qualitativ hochwertiges Produkt herzustellen.

GREENSTYLE: Hat diese Zusammenarbeit und die daraus resultierenden Erkenntnisse Ihren Blick auf Nachhaltigkeit verändert?
Viktor&Rolf:  Die Kreativität, die mit bewusstem Design einhergeht. Neue Wege finden, um nachhaltig zu sein und gleichzeitig einen künstlerischen Ansatz und ein qualitativ hochwertiges Produkt beizubehalten.
Viktor&Rolf: Ja, wir haben gelernt, dass immer mehr möglich ist. Calida ist sehr innovativ, wenn es um Nachhaltigkeit geht. Wir freuen uns, Teil der ersten 100 Prozent kompostierbaren Kollektion mit diesem einzigartigen Cradle-to-Cradle-Ansatz zu sein.

Viktor&Rolf
Viktor&Rolf

Wir haben gelernt, dass immer mehr möglich ist.

GREENSTYLE: Welche Auswirkungen haben diese Kooperationen auf zukünftige Viktor&Rolf Kollektionen?
Viktor&Rolf: Bewusstes Design ist für uns als Designer und als Modemarke eine wichtige Facette. Wir werden in unserer Arbeit weiterhin verschiedene achtsame und bewusste Ansätze einbringen.

GREENSTYLE: Giorgio Armani hat gerade in einem Brandbrief eine Entschleunigung der High Fashion gefordert, um u.a. die Überproduktion zu reduzieren. Was raten Sie unseren Lesern?
Viktor&Rolf: Achtsam und freundlich sein.

GREENSTYLE: Wie sieht Ihre Vision von nachhaltiger Couture aus?
Viktor&Rolf: Couture ist für uns unser Experimentierlabor. In der Vergangenheit haben wir Vintage-Archivstücke als Grundlage für neue Kreationen verwendet. Das haben wir in unserer Vagabonds-Kollektion 2016 und der Action Dolls-Kollektion gezeigt.

Viktor&Rolf
Viktor&Rolf

Couture ist für uns unser Experimentierlabor.

Für unsere Kollektion „Boulevard of Broken Dreams“ im Jahr 2017 haben wir – häufig beschädigte – Vintage-Cocktail- und Abendkleidung aus verschiedenen Jahrzehnten verwendet. Wir haben diese Fragmente mit Gold zusammengesetzt, inspiriert von Kintsugi, einem Prinzip der japanischen Keramik, bei dem wahre Schönheit aus Unvollkommenheit entsteht. Für „Spiritual Glamour“ haben wir in Zusammenarbeit mit Claudy Jongstra handgefilzte Stoffe verwendet, die mit natürlichen Inhaltsstoffen gefärbt wurden. Nachdem wir unseren Vorrat bei unseren früheren Upcycling-Couture-Shows fast erschöpft hatten, wandten wir uns für unsere neueste „Patchworks“ -Kollektion unserem Archiv mit Stoffmustern zu.

GREENSTYLE: Gibt es schon weitere Pläne für nachhaltige Kooperationen?
Viktor&Rolf: Stay tuned…

Hier die Kollektion entdecken und kaufen >>>

Gut zu wissen:
CALIDA war 2016 das weltweit erste Wäschelabel, welches das unabhängige Label MADE IN GREEN by Oeko-Tex® einführte, welches nach strengsten sozialen und ökologischen Kriterien vergeben wird und zu Transparenz verpflichtet. 2018 folgte die Lancierung des ersten 100% kompostierbaren T-Shirts der Serie 100% NATURE. Die „We want a better world“ Capsule Collection ist seit Mai 2020 in den Stores und ab Oktober in einer zweiten Edition erhältlich.