Skip to content

ANZEIGE

Nata Y Limón – social business

Nata Y Limón – social business

Marlene Walter and Anne Schneider worked for various NGOs in Guatemala and Costa Rica before founding their social business, Nata Y Limón. Their goal is to provide long-term support to indigenous women in Guatemala.

In 2005, the Nata Y Limón founders met each other during their tourism studies in Wernigerode, followed by relocations, marketing jobs with large companies and the urge to put their own energy into something meaningful. Both quit their jobs and left for Central America to get involved in social projects. Over pizza and wine in Granada, Nicaragua, the two visionaries decided to put their energy into something meaningful and merge their ideas, thoughts and visions into a common social brand. Their goal? To support indigenous women in the long term by making their craft a sustainable source of income.

 

Nata Y Limón
Marlene and Anne share the same passion: commitment to indigenous women and their craftsmanship

Nata y Limón is Spanish for “cream & lemon”.

Mayan women have passed on the art of weaving to their daughters over generations and have preserved it for the present. Today, for many of these women, it is the only way to provide for their families’ livelihood. This is where the concept by Nata Y Limón comes in, as these women often live in poverty despite their skills. Together with the weavers, Marlene and Anne develop handmade, timeless and modern fabric designs for interior accessories and fashion based on the Mayan textile tradition.

Nata Y Limón
Securing the livelihood of indigenous women through self-help – that is Nata Y Limón.

Their mission? Women empowerment through social business.

The fabrics are woven and produced in Guatemala as this is where craft originated. Work is necessary for these indigenous women, as they can benefit from it in the long term. What is important to Nata Y Limón? The respectful treatment and a fair perspective: Starting with regular payment on the basis of a fair hourly wage (based on the data of the Global Living Wage Coalition), paid vacations and a guaranteed purchase of 200 bags per month. This not only ensures the livelihood of 14 weavers and tailors. Since its founding in 2017, Nata Y Limón has offered women perspectives through its traditional weaving craft.

It’s only premium when it’s ethical.

In the Heroine Bag Collection, the two founders show their recognition and appreciation for women. A collection that with timeless classics and minimalist color spectrums, emphasizes the luminous diversity of its customers.

Nata Y Limón
From women for women – the Heroine Collection

Good to know: One percent of each bag sold goes to the non-profit organization Amazonas Watch, which is committed to climate protection and the preservation of the Amazon rainforest ecosystem as well as human rights of the indigenous population living there.

More informations about Nata Y Limón

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on whatsapp

Skip to content

ANZEIGE

Slider
Nata Y Limón – social business

Nata Y Limón – social business

Marlene Walter und Anne Schneider haben bei verschiedenen NGOs in Guatemala und Costa Rica gearbeitet, bevor sie ihr Social Business Nata Y Limón gegründet haben, um indigene Frauen in Guatemala langfristig zu unterstützen.

Kennengelernt haben sich die Nata Y Limón Gründerinnen bei ihrem Tourismusstudium in Wernigerode 2005. Es folgten Umzüge, Marketingjobs bei großen Unternehmen und der Drang, die eigene Energie in etwas Sinnvolles zu stecken. Beide haben ihre Jobs gekündigt und sind nach Mittelamerika aufgebrochen, um sich dort in sozialen Projekten zu engagieren. Bei einer Pizza und Wein in Granada, Nicaragua, haben sich die beiden Visionärinnen dazu entschlossen, ihre Energie in etwas Sinnvolles zu stecken und ihre Ideen, Gedanken und Vision in einer gemeinsamen Social Brand zu fusionieren. Ihr Ziel? Indigenen Frauen langfristig zu unterstützen, indem sie deren Handwerk zu einer nachhaltigen Einnahmequelle machen.

Nata Y Limón
Marlene und Anne verbindet die gleiche Leidenschaft: das Engagement für indigene Frauen und ihre Handwerkskunst

Nata y Limón ist Spanisch und bedeutet „Sahne & Zitrone“.

Maya-Frauen haben die kunstvolle Webkunst über Generationen hinweg an ihre Töchter weitergegeben und für die Gegenwart erhalten. Heute ist es für viele von ihnen die einzige Möglichkeit für den Lebensunterhalt ihrer Familien zu sorgen. Und hier setzt das Konzept von Nata Y Limón an, da diese Frauen trotz ihrer Fertigkeiten oft in Armut leben. Gemeinsam mit den Weberinnen entwickeln Marlene und Anne basierend auf der Maya Textiltradition handgefertigte zeitlose-moderne Stoffdesigns für Interior Accessoires und Mode.

Nata Y Limón
Den Lebensunterhalt für indigene Frauen durch Selbsthilfe zu sichern – das ist Nata Y Limón.

Ihre Mission? Women Empowerment durch Social Business.

Gewebt und gefertigt wird in Guatemala, weil dort die Handarbeit ihren Ursprung hat, Arbeit dringend notwendig ist und die indigenen Frauen langfristig etwas davon haben. Was Nata Y Limón dabei wichtig ist? Der respektvolle Umgang und eine faire Perspektive: Angefangen bei regelmäßiger Bezahlung auf Basis eines fairen Stundenlohns (basierend auf den Daten der Global Living Wage Coalition) über bezahlten Urlaub bis hin zur garantierten Abnahme von 200 Taschen pro Monat. Das stellt nicht nur den Lebensunterhalt für 14 Weberinnen und Schneiderinnen sicher. Nata Y Limón ermöglicht seit der Gründung 2017 Frauen eine Perspektive durch ihr traditionelles Webhandwerk.

It’s only premium when it’s ethical.

Ihre Anerkennung und Wertschätzung für Frauen machen die beiden Gründerinnen in ihrer Heroine Bag Collection sichtbar. Eine Kollektion, die mit zeitlosen Klassikern und minimalistischem Farbspektrum, die leuchtende Vielfalt ihrer Trägerinnen betont.

Nata Y Limón
From women for women – die Heroine Collection

Gut zu wissen: Ein Prozent jeder verkauften Tasche geht an die Non-Profit Organisation Amazonas Watch, die sich für Klimaschutz und den Erhalt des Ökosystems im Amazonas Regenwald sowie der Menschenrechte der dort lebenden indigenen Bevölkerung einsetzt.

Weitere Informationen zu Nata Y Limón

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on whatsapp