Skip to content
Simone Gronchi: visionary shoe design

Simone Gronchi: visionary shoe design

The N.O.R.A. collection, which Simone Gronchi developed for his design studio of the same name, proves that consistent sustainability and style do not contradict each other. The smart Italian has now used his expertise from 30 years of shoe design for well-known high fashion houses and developed his own collection: as stylish as possible and just as sustainable.

Are these shoes really sustainable? Shoe designer Simone Gronchi gets this reaction again and again because his N.O.R.A. Collection of Italian shoe design par excellence signals that nobody can imagine that it was made almost entirely with organic materials under fair conditions. Made in Tuscany and 100 percent recyclable.

We met the shoe expert from Italy (digitally) and talked to him about his collection and his goals.

GREENSTYLE: What is the idea for N.O.R.A. developed?
Simone Gronchi: As part of the team, we had often exchanged ideas about sustainability in the shoe industry and then it was Petra, our Business Development Manager, who got into the topic in more detail. After a market investigation, it became clear to us that really sustainable shoes cannot be found in the conventional shoe market, but that there are some good approaches from manufacturers. In the end, it was important for us to offer a product that meets the highest standards, both in terms of sustainability and quality and style. So we were looking for suitable partners here on site to implement sustainable production with selected components so that we can offer a shoe that can ultimately be recycled without harming the environment. With N.O.R.A. we wanted to create a basis to prove to our customers that it works and how it works.

In the end, it was important for us to offer a product that meets the highest standards, both in terms of sustainability and quality and style.

Simone Gronchi

GREENSTYLE: Which feedback excited you the most, which irritated you the most?
Simone Gronchi: I was most enthusiastic about the reaction of people who see our shoes. Anyone who sees the collection reacts very positively and surprised. Many do not expect that a sustainable shoe collection can also be fashionable. It irritates me when we have discussions about the sustainability of leather. The leather we use comes from the meat industry. A waste product that is treated and dyed organically and sustainably and, when recycled, does not harm the environment. Some vegan products that are not made with sustainable polyurethanes are much more harmful to the environment.

GREENSTYLE: Why are you looking for partners on the German market?
Simone Gronchi: We are established as a design studio in the international shoe business and so far we are not known in the sustainable fashion market. As a team player, we would like to get involved in the network and bring forward the issue that sustainable fashion can be absolutely fashionable. Making shoes is very complex and we can learn from the clothing standards that have been achieved so far and support each other.

Simone Gronchi

GREENSTYLE: What are the next steps?
Simone Gronchi: Our business should develop sustainably. With our brand N.O.R.A. a start-up and as a design studio an “open source” for potential partners who want to develop a sustainable shoe collection with us. In the long term, we are considering our N.O.R.A. also to sell directly to end customers. But everything step by step.

We are “open source” for potential partners who want to develop a sustainable shoe line together with us.

GREENSTYLE: What do you want for sustainable design?
Simone Gronchi: I would like further scientific research and innovations to be developed in the area of sustainability. So that, together with the manufacturers of the components and the production facilities, we reach an even higher level. Because from my point of view, sustainably produced shoes should be the standard in the future.

Thank you very much, Simone for talking to us. We very much hope that you can find like-minded partners for your project. In any case, you’ve already won us over as fans.

Skip to content

ANZEIGE

Simone Gronchi: visionäres Schuh-Design

Simone Gronchi: visionäres Schuh-Design

Dass sich konsequente Nachhaltigkeit und Stil nicht wiedersprechen beweist die Kollektion N.O.R.A., die Simone Gronchi für sein gleichnamiges Design Studio entwickelt hat. Seine Expertise aus 30 Jahren Schuhdesign für namhafte High Fashion Häuser hat der smarte Italiener jetzt genutzt und seine eigene Kollektion entwickelt: maximal stilvoll und genauso nachhaltig.

Diese Schuhe sind wirklich nachhaltig? Diese Reaktion bekommt Schuhdesigner Simone Gronchi immer wieder zu hören, weil seine N.O.R.A. Kollektion italienisches Schuhdesign par excellence signalisiert, dass sich niemand vorstellen kann, dass sie fast vollständig mit organischen Materialien unter fairen Bedingungen hergestellt wurde. Made in Tuscany und zu 100 Prozent recyclebar.

Wir haben den Schuhexperten aus Italien (digital) getroffen und mit ihm über seine Kollektion und seine Ziele gesprochen.

GREENSTYLE: Wie ist die Idee zu N.O.R.A. entstanden?
Simone Gronchi: Wir hatten uns im Team schon öfter zu Nachhaltigkeit in der Schuhindustrie ausgetauscht und dann war es Petra, unsere Business Development Managerin, die genauer in das Thema eingestiegen ist. Nach einer Marktuntersuchung war uns klar, dass im herkömmlichen Schuhmarkt richtig nachhaltige Schuhe nicht zu finden sind, es aber einzelne gute Ansätze von Herstellern gibt. Für uns war es wichtig am Ende ein Produkt anzubieten, das höchsten Ansprüchen genügt, sowohl in der Nachhaltigkeit als auch in Qualität und Stil. Wir suchten also entsprechende Partner hier vor Ort, um eine nachhaltige Herstellung mit ausgesuchten Komponenten zu realisieren, damit wir einen Schuh anbieten können, der am Ende recycelt werden kann, ohne die Umwelt zu schädigen. Mit N.O.R.A. wollten wir eine Basis schaffen, um unseren Kunden zu beweisen, dass es und wie es funktioniert.

Für uns war es wichtig am Ende ein Produkt anzubieten, das höchsten Ansprüchen genügt, sowohl in der Nachhaltigkeit als auch in Qualität und Stil.

Simone Gronchi

GREENSTYLE: Welches Feedback hat Sie am meisten begeistert, welches am meisten irritiert?
Simone Gronchi: Am meisten begeistert hat mich die Reaktion der Menschen, die unsere Schuhe sehen. Wer die Kollektion sieht, reagiert sehr positiv und überrascht. Viele rechnen nicht damit, dass eine nachhaltige Schuhkollektion auch fashionable sein kann. Es irritiert mich, wenn wir Diskussionen führen über die Nachhaltigkeit von Leder. Das Leder, das wir verwenden, kommt aus der Fleischwirtschaft. Ein Abfallprodukt, das organisch und nachhaltig behandelt und gefärbt wird und wenn es recycelt wird, die Umwelt nicht schädigt. Da sind manche vegane Produkte, die nicht mit nachhaltigen Polyurethanen hergestellt werden, wesentlich umweltschädlicher.

GREENSTYLE: Warum suchen Sie nach Partnern auf dem deutschen Markt?
Simone Gronchi: Wir sind im internationalen Schuhbusiness als Design Studio etabliert und sind bisher im nachhaltigen Fashion Markt nicht bekannt. Als Teamplayer möchten wir uns gerne in das Netzwerk einbringen und das Thema, dass nachhaltige Mode absolut fashionable sein kann, nach vorne bringen. Schuhe herzustellen ist sehr komplex und wir können von den bisher erreichten Standards in der Bekleidung lernen und uns gegenseitig unterstützen.

Simone Gronchi

GREENSTYLE: Wie sehen die nächsten Schritte aus?
Simone Gronchi: Unser Business soll sich nachhaltig entwickeln. Wir sind mit unserer Marke N.O.R.A. ein Start Up und als Design Studio ein „open source“ für mögliche Partner, die mit uns gemeinsam eine nachhaltige Schuhlinie entwickeln wollen. Langfristig überlegen wir unsere Kollektion N.O.R.A. auch direkt an die Endkunden zu verkaufen. Aber alles Step by Step.

Wir sind „open source“ für mögliche Partner, die mit uns gemeinsam eine nachhaltige Schuhlinie entwickeln wollen.

GREENSTYLE: Was wünschen Sie sich für nachhaltiges Design?
Simone Gronchi: Ich wünsche mir, dass im Bereich der Nachhaltigkeit weitere wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen und Innovationen entwickelt werden. So dass wir gemeinsam mit den Herstellern der Komponenten und den Produktionsstätten auf ein noch höheres Niveau gelangen. Denn aus meiner Sicht sollten nachhaltig produzierte Schuhe der Standard in der Zukunft sein.

Herzlichen Dank, Simone für das Gespräch. Wir hoffen sehr, dass Du gleichgesinnte Partner für Dein Projekt finden kannst. Uns hast du als Fans jedenfalls schon gewonnen.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on whatsapp