Skip to content

ANZEIGE

ALICIA VICTORIA – less waste leather

ALICIA VICTORIA – less waste leather

Alicia Linz wants to stop wasting raw leather. How it works? For the timeless, classic bags of her label ALICIA VICTORIA, she uses leather with natural "flaws". Instead of sorting out this unique raw material, it is used consistently. Vegetable tanned, produced transparently and (hopefully at some point) declared a design classic.

Leather is a valuable raw material. All the more shocking is the fact that leather with natural marks (scars, holes, bumps, mosquito bites, etc.) is ignored, sorted out and declared a garbage product by the fashion industry. Alicia Linz has dedicated herself to these unloved leather hides.

We want to raise awareness of the naturalness and value of leather as a raw material and link it to a new definition of aesthetics. Alicia Linz

ALICIA VICTORIA

Alicia Linz came up with the idea for her label while visiting a traditional Hamburg tannery during her design studies, during which she learned that precious leather is not used consistently. To change that, she uses the entire skin for the bags of her label, which was founded in 2017, and produces bags that are as unique as they are minimalist. Two years have passed from the idea to the first finished product. It took so long to set up the concept, work out sketches, order and assess leather samples, manufacture the first sample parts and finally create the first series of bags made of leather hides with a striking look.

In addition to the sensible use of high-quality raw materials, a second focus is on the transparent supply chain.

The timeless, classic bags are produced in a family company in Bogota, Colombia. After long research, Alicia Linz finally found what she was looking for. All the other establishments she had visited before did not live up to her ideals. The leather of the leather manufacturer, which has been in existence for over 40 years, comes from the region and is only obtained from organic farmers who keep their cattle on large pastures. The bags are made here across generations and with attention to detail. In addition to great specialist knowledge and skill, this requires many specialists who carry out the individual steps to perfection.

ALICIA VICTORIA

The essence of the bag label ALICIA VICTORIA? Environmental sustainability.

To ensure this, the manufactory has changed its entire production cycle. The leather was vegetable tanned according to EU environmental and water protection standards in order to keep production as environmentally friendly as possible. The ALICIA VICTORIA team accompanied the process of creating their first collection with the three models “The Character Strong”, “The Special” and “The” Fine “for seven months to ensure that all processes met the high ecological and social standards and meet design-technical requirements.

ALICIA VICTORIA

Berlin – Bogota – St. Gallen

Even if in Europe – unlike in the textile industry – there is still no obligation to label leather products, Alicia Linz uses her information as transparently as possible. In each of her pockets you can find information about the locations of the ingredients suppliers, the location of production and the location of the company with a design studio in Berlin. In addition to information about the material, each piece is provided with an individual serial number that provides information about the number of products manufactured in the corresponding series. The nickel-free zippers are handcrafted in Ticino and purchased from the Swiss company RiRi Mayer from St. Gallen.

Good to know: Getting leather from the region and having it processed in local companies is of great importance to Alicia Linz. That is why she is looking for a corresponding opportunity in Germany. She has already taken this step for her next product, a wallet.

Further information and online shop from ALICIA VICTORIA. Click here >>>

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on whatsapp

Skip to content

ANZEIGE

ALICIA VICTORIA – less waste Leder

ALICIA VICTORIA – less waste Leder

Alicia Linz möchte die Verschwendung von Lederrohhaut stoppen. Wie das geht? Für die zeitlos-klassischen Taschen ihres Labels ALICIA VICTORIA verwendet sie Leder mit natürlichen "Makeln". Statt diesen einzigartigen Rohstoff auszusortieren wird er konsequent genutzt. Pflanzlich gegerbt, transparent produziert und (hoffentlich irgendwann) zum Design-Klassiker erklärt.

Leder ist ein kostbarer Rohstoff. Umso schockierender ist die Tatsache, dass Leder mit natürlichen Spuren (Narben, Löcher, Unebenheiten, Mückenstiche etc.) von der Modeindustrie ignoriert, aussortiert und zum Müllprodukt erklärt wird. Diesen ungeliebten Lederhäuten hat sich Alicia Linz verschrieben.

Wir möchten die Natürlichkeit und den Wert des Rohstoffs Leder wieder ins Bewusstsein rücken und mit einer neuen Definition von Ästhetik zu verknüpfen. Alicia Linz

ALICIA VICTORIA

Die Idee zu ihrem Label kam Alicia Linz bei dem Besuch einer traditionellen Hamburger Gerberei während ihres Designstudiums, bei dem sie erfahren hat, dass kostbares Leder nicht konsequent genutzt wird. Um das zu ändern verwendet sie für die Taschen ihres 2017 gegründeten Labels die gesamte Haut und produziert ebenso einzigartige wie minimalistische Taschen. Von der Idee bis zum ersten fertigen Produkt sind zwei Jahre vergangen. So lange hat es gedauert, bis das Konzept aufgesetzt, Skizzen erarbeitet, Lederproben bestellt und begutachtet, sowie erste Musterteile gefertigt und schließlich die erste Taschenserie aus Lederhäuten mit markanter Optik entstanden ist.

Neben der sinnvollen Nutzung von hochwertigen Rohstoffen liegt ein zweiter Fokus auf der transparenten Lieferkette.

Produziert werden die zeitlos-klassischen Bags in einem Familienunternehmen in Bogota, Kolumbien. Hier ist Alicia Linz nach langer Recherche schließlich fündig geworden. Alle anderen Betriebe, die sie vorher besucht hatte haben nicht ihren Idealen entsprochen. Das Leder der seit über 40 Jahren bestehenden Ledermanufaktur stammt aus der Region und wird ausschließlich von Bio-Bauern bezogen, die ihre Rinder auf großen Weideflächen halten. Generationenübergreifend und mit Liebe zum Detail werden hier die Taschen hergestellt. Dazu bedarf es neben großem Fachwissen und Geschicklichkeit viele Spezialisten, die die einzelnen Schritte in Perfektion ausführen.

ALICIA VICTORIA

Die Essenz des Taschenlabels ALICIA VICTORIA? Ökologische Nachhaltigkeit.

Um das zu gewährleisten hat die Manufaktur ihren gesamten Produktionszyklus umgestellt. Das Leder wurde nach den EU Umwelt- und Wasserschutzstandards pflanzlich gegerbt, um die Produktion so umweltschonend wie möglich zu halten. Den Prozess der Entstehung ihrer ersten Kollektion mit den drei Modellen „Die Charakterstarke“, „Die Besondere“ und „Die „Feine“ hat das Team von ALICIA VICTORIA sieben Monate lang vor Ort begleitet, um sicherzustellen, dass alle Abläufe den hohen ökologischen, sozialen und design-technischen Anforderungen entsprechen.

ALICIA VICTORIA

Berlin – Bogota – St. Gallen

Auch wenn es in Europa – anders als in der Textilindustrie – immer noch keine Pflicht zur Kennzeichnung von Lederprodukten gibt, geht Alicia Linz mit ihren Informationen maximal transparent um. In jeder ihrer Taschen findet man Informationen zu den Orten der Zutatenlieferanten, den Sitz der Produktion sowie den Sitz des Unternehmens mit Designatelier in Berlin. Zusätzlich ist jedes Stück neben Angaben zum Material mit einer individuellen Seriennummer versehen, die Aufschluss über die Anzahl der gefertigten Produkte der entsprechenden Serie gibt. Die nickelfreien Reißverschlüsse werden in Handarbeit im Tessin gefertigt und über das Schweizer Unternehmen RiRi Mayer aus St. Gallen bezogen.

Gut zu wissen: Leder aus der Region zu beziehen und in lokalen Unternehmen verarbeiten zu lassen ist für Alicia Linz von großer Bedeutung. Deshalb ist sie auf der Suche nach einer entsprechenden Möglichkeit in Deutschland. Für ihr nächstes Produkt, ein Portemonnaie ist ihr dieser Schritt bereits gelungen.

Weitere Infos und Onlineshop von ALICIA VICTORIA. Hier klicken >>>

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on whatsapp