Skip to content
Gobelin Stickerei by Anna Schuster

Gobelin Stickerei by Anna Schuster

Anna Schuster, co-founder and designer of the upcoming label JOA Fashion wanted to present her upcycling bomber jackets to the public at the 4th edition of GREENSTYLE. In the MODE COMMONING panel she wanted to talk about the universe of alternatives and in her talk #trashionable about garbage as a new raw material of the 21st century. We’ll make up for it. Now embroidery is about her way of coping with fear

Embroidery is Anna’s creative solution to fear. Because it honestly accompanies us all. Everyone in their own way. Everyone deals with it differently. DIY and handicrafts against fear? Makes sense. Because anyone who has ever crocheted, knitted or sewed knows how quickly their thoughts wander. Another type of meditation that trains dexterity and mind and revives old techniques.

StickereiEmbroidery Tapestry embroidery: Needlework against fear

It is no coincidence that companies like ‘Wool and the Gang’ or ‘We Are Knitters’ that sell knitting and crochet sets are thriving. Handicrafts convey a feeling of self-fulfillment that working on a laptop hardly offers. It increases cognitive skills, improves memory and body coordination.

Embroidery instead of Netflix and Instagram

What Netflix and Instagram are to society these days were embroidery and other handicrafts for our grandmothers and their mothers. A job, a distraction and an opportunity to spend time with neighbors and friends. By sewing, they were able to exchange news, skills and experiences. So why not revive these old techniques, which have disappeared from everyday life and the apartments, in times of self-isolation, as well as spending your free time in front of screens.

The JOA makers have collected vintage kits and show through tutorials and videos how everyone can embroider themselves. Try it out here

Try it out here Please send a direct message to JOA

#staythefuckhome and start #crafting

Gobelin Stickerei by Anna Schuster

Anna Schuster, Co-Founder und Designerin der upcoming Labels JOA Fashion wollte ihre Upcycling-Bomberjacken auf der 4th edition der GREENSTYLE dem Publikum präsentieren. Im Panel MODE COMMONING wollte sie über das Universum der Alternativen und in ihrem Talk #trashionable über Müll als neuer Rohstoff des 21. Jahrhunderts sprechen. Das holen wir nach. Jetzt geht es mit Stickerei um ihre Art der Angstbewältigung

Sticken lautet Annas kreative Lösung gegen die Angst. Denn die begleitet uns ehrlicherweise alle. Jeden auf seine Art. Jeder geht damit anders um. DIY und Handarbeiten gegen die Angst? Macht Sinn. Denn wer schon mal gehäkelt, gestrickt oder genäht hat, weiß, wie schnell die Gedanken abschweifen. Eine andere Art der Meditation, die Geschicklichkeit und Geist trainiert und alte Techniken wieder aufleben lässt.

StickereiGobelin Stickerei: Handarbeiten gegen die Angst

Es ist kein Zufall, dass Unternehmen wie ‚Wool and the Gang‘ oder ‚We Are Knitters‘, die Strick- und Häkelsets verkaufen, florieren. Kunsthandwerk vermittelt ein Gefühl der Selbstverwirklichung, das die Arbeit an einem Laptop kaum bietet. Es erhöht die kognitiven Fähigkeiten, verbessert das Gedächtnis und die Körperkoordination.

Sticken statt Netflix und Instagram

Was heutzutage Netflix und Instagram für die Gesellschaft sind, waren für unsere Großmütter und ihre Mütter Stickereien und anderes Kunsthandwerk. Eine Beschäftigung, eine Ablenkung und eine Möglichkeit, Zeit mit Nachbarn und Freunden zu verbringen. Durch Nähen konnten sie Neuigkeiten, Fähigkeiten und Erfahrungen austauschen. Warum also nicht in Zeiten der Selbstisolation diese alten Techniken, die aus dem Alltag und den Wohnungen verschwunden sind, wieder aufleben lassen, als auch die Freizeit vor Bildschirmen zu verbringen.

Die JOA-Macherinnen haben Vintage Kits zusammengesammelt und zeigen durch Tutorials und Videos wie jeder selber sticken kann. Hier ausprobieren

Stick-Kit kaufen? Bitte eine Direct Message an JOA

#staythefuckhome and start #crafting